Policy before and after · Macroprudential
Singapore extends the SSD holding period to four years and raises every residential tier by four percentage points
Announced 3 July 2025 · Effective 4 July 2025
Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research brief
Comparison window
Comparison anchored to effective date: 4 July 2025. Before: 5 April 2025 to 3 July 2025. After: 4 July 2025 to 1 October 2025. The same 90 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.
Before · 5 Apr 2025 to 3 Jul 2025
3 land-sales awards
- 15 land-sales steps in all
- 0 other archive events
The event
Announced 3 Jul 2025
Effective 4 Jul 2025
The effective date is the anchor.
After · 4 Jul 2025 to 1 Oct 2025
7 land-sales awards
- 17 land-sales steps in all
- All 90 days observable
What this comparison can and cannot show
Generated from this window's records
Recorded
- 7 verified claims on this event record a before and an after value.
- 3 land-sales awards in the 90 days before the effective date, and 7 in the 90 observable days after.
- None of the 3 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 90-day window, so no market figure is compared.
Cannot be concluded
- That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
- A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
- Announced
- 3 July 2025
- Effective
- 4 July 2025
- Issuing authority
- Monetary Authority of Singapore, Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance, Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore
- Category
- Macroprudential
- Affected market
- Residential property and residential land in Singapore acquired on and after 4 July 2025, 12.00am, and disposed of within four years of the applicable acquisition date, subject to the statutory exemptions and remissions. The trigger is the seller's acquisition date, not the date of sale. Residential property acquired between 11 March 2017 and 3 July 2025 retains the three-year period and the 12%, 8% and 4% schedule, and earlier acquisitions retain the schedule applicable to their own cohort. Industrial property has a separate seller's stamp duty schedule that this package did not amend.
- Primary source
- Extension of the Holding Period of Seller's Stamp Duty and Higher SSD Rates for Residential Properties, 3 July 2025, with Table 1. Expressly reverts to the pre-2017 holding period and raises each tier by four percentage points.
On 3 July 2025 Singapore extended the Seller's Stamp Duty holding period for residential property from three years to four and raised the rate in every tier by four percentage points, with effect from 4 July 2025 for property acquired on and after that date. The revised schedule is 16%, 12%, 8% and 4%, restoring the rates in force between 14 January 2011 and 10 March 2017. Nothing in the package reaches a property acquired earlier: those cohorts keep the schedule that applied when they were bought, so a seller's liability turns on the acquisition date rather than the sale date. The fourth year of ownership becomes chargeable at 4% where it had carried no duty since 11 March 2017, and the rate beyond four years remains nil. The Government gave as its reason a sharp increase in private residential transactions with short holding periods, and in particular in the sub-sale of units not yet completed, without publishing a figure for either. It also stated that HDB owners would not be affected, because the Minimum Occupation Period ordinarily prevents a disposal inside the SSD window. Buyer's stamp duty, additional buyer's stamp duty and every loan-to-value, TDSR and MSR limit were left where they stood.
In brief
In brief
- 3 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 7 in the after window.
What changed
No policy matrix is recorded for this event. These are its verified claims that store a before and an after value.
| As recorded in the claim | Before | After | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a holding period of more than two years and up to three years was raised from 4% to 8%. | 4% | 8% | +4 pts | Claim 6 |
| The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a holding period of more than one year and up to two years was raised from 8% to 12%. | 8% | 12% | +4 pts | Claim 5 |
| Residential SSD holding period, from three yearsyears | 3 | 4 | +33.3% | Claim 1 |
| SSD on a sale within one year, from 12% | 12% | 16% | +4 pts | Claim 2 |
View all 7 before-and-after valuesHide the other 3
| The seller-side Additional Conveyance Duty was revised by acquisition cohort: equity interests acquired between 11 March 2017 and 3 July 2025 keep the 12% rate and the three-year holding period, while equity interests acquired on and after 4 July 2025 are subject to a 16% rate and a four-year holding period. | 12% | 16% | +4 pts | Claim 16 |
| SSD in the fourth year of ownership, from 0% | 0% | 4% | +4 pts | Claim 3 |
| The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a holding period of more than four years remained at nil. | 0% | 0% | No change | Claim 7 |
Observed around this event
View linked outcomesThe same statistic over the 90 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.
Singapore private residential transactions, all types of sale
units · Total over whole quarterly periods inside each 90-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/90 days
After
None
Coverage 0/90 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Series kind
- FLOW
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Calculated (sum of published period values)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Private Residential Property Price Index, All Residential
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 90-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/90 days
After
None
Coverage 0/90 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
HDB Resale Price Index
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 90-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/90 days
After
None
Coverage 0/90 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Housing & Development Board
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Concurrent planning and land activity
Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.
Before the effective date
15 lines
15 land-sales steps (3 awards) · 0 archive events
From the effective date
18 lines
17 land-sales steps (7 awards) · 1 archive event
Explore concurrent eventsHide concurrent events
Before (15)
8 April 2025 · Land sales
Lakeside Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 8 April 2025: Tender open
8 April 2025 · Land sales
Dunearn Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 8 April 2025: Tender open
8 April 2025 · Land sales
Woodlands Drive 17 (EC): Launched for tender, Confirmed ListExecutive Condominium · status on 8 April 2025: Tender open
9 April 2025 · Land sales
Lentor Gardens (20,640.8 sqm parcel): AwardedResidential · status on 9 April 2025: Awarded · awarded to Kingsford Huray Development Pte Ltd at S$429,230,000
29 April 2025 · Land sales
Media Circle (Parcel B): Tender closed, no bidsResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 29 April 2025: Tender closed, no bids received
13 May 2025 · Land sales
Chuan Grove (14,514.3 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 13 May 2025: Tender open
29 May 2025 · Land sales
Sembawang Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListExecutive Condominium housing · status on 29 May 2025: Tender open
29 May 2025 · Land sales
Hougang Avenue 10 / Hougang Central: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListMixed commercial and residential, integrated with a bus interchange · status on 29 May 2025: Tender open
3 June 2025 · Land sales
Lakeside Drive: Tender closedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 3 June 2025: Tender closed, award pending
9 June 2025 · Land sales
Lakeside Drive: AwardedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 9 June 2025: Awarded · awarded to CDL Polaris Properties Pte. Ltd. and CDL Polaris Commercial Pte. Ltd. at S$608,000,000
24 June 2025 · Land sales
Dorset Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 24 June 2025: Tender open
24 June 2025 · Land sales
Upper Thomson Road (Parcel A), 2025 tender: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 24 June 2025: Tender open
24 June 2025 · Land sales
Telok Blangah Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 24 June 2025: Tender open
26 June 2025 · Land sales
Dunearn Road: Tender closedResidential · status on 26 June 2025: Tender closed, award pending
3 July 2025 · Land sales
Dunearn Road: AwardedResidential · status on 3 July 2025: Awarded · awarded to CSC Land Group (Singapore) Pte. Ltd., Sekisui House, Ltd. and Frasers Property Phoenix II Pte. Ltd. at S$491,454,208
After (18)
8 July 2025 · Land sales
Chuan Grove: Tender closedResidential · status on 8 July 2025: Tender closed, award pending
17 July 2025 · Land sales
Chuan Grove: AwardedResidential · status on 17 July 2025: Awarded · awarded to Sing Holdings Residential Pte. Ltd. and Sunway Developments Pte. Ltd. at S$703,600,000
29 July 2025 · Land sales
Holland Link: Tender closedResidential · status on 29 July 2025: Tender closed, award pending
5 August 2025 · Land sales
Senja Close: Tender closedExecutive Condominium residential · status on 5 August 2025: Tender closed, award pending
5 August 2025 · Land sales
Woodlands Drive 17 (EC): Tender closedExecutive Condominium · status on 5 August 2025: Tender closed, award pending
7 August 2025 · Land sales
Holland Link: AwardedResidential · status on 7 August 2025: Awarded · awarded to Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian Development Pte Ltd at S$368,368,368
26 August 2025 · Land sales
Bukit Timah Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 26 August 2025: Tender open
26 August 2025 · Land sales
Senja Close: AwardedExecutive Condominium residential · status on 26 August 2025: Awarded · awarded to CDL Constellation Pte. Ltd. at S$252,899,000
26 August 2025 · Land sales
Woodlands Drive 17 (EC): AwardedExecutive Condominium · status on 26 August 2025: Awarded · awarded to CDL Divine Pte. Ltd. at S$360,899,000
3 September 2025 · Archive event
Singapore extends the CORENET X qualifying period for the developer ABSD remission timeline extension to September 2026 and September 2027Announced 3 September 2025
4 September 2025 · Land sales
Chuan Grove (14,514.3 sqm parcel): Tender closedResidential · status on 4 September 2025: Tender closed, award pending
10 September 2025 · Land sales
Chuan Grove (14,514.3 sqm parcel): AwardedResidential · status on 10 September 2025: Awarded · awarded to Sing Holdings Residential Pte. Ltd. and Sunway Developments Pte. Ltd. at S$623,910,000
11 September 2025 · Land sales
Chencharu Close: Tender closedMixed commercial and residential, integrated with a bus interchange and a hawker centre · status on 11 September 2025: Tender closed, award pending
11 September 2025 · Land sales
Sembawang Road: Tender closedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 11 September 2025: Tender closed, award pending
18 September 2025 · Land sales
Bedok Rise: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 18 September 2025: Tender open
18 September 2025 · Land sales
Cross Street (long-stay serviced apartments): Released on the Reserve ListResidential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 18 September 2025: On the Reserve List
26 September 2025 · Land sales
Chencharu Close: AwardedMixed commercial and residential, integrated with a bus interchange and a hawker centre · status on 26 September 2025: Awarded · awarded to Evia MCS Pte. Ltd., Gamuda (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. and H108 Pte. Ltd. at S$1,012,588,990
26 September 2025 · Land sales
Sembawang Road: AwardedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 26 September 2025: Awarded · awarded to Oriental Pacific Development Pte. Ltd. at S$197,777,000
Methodology5 rules
- Comparison anchored to effective date: 4 July 2025. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
- The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
- A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
- Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
- Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.
Sources
The event's sources (3)
Primary sources3
Extension of the Holding Period of Seller's Stamp Duty and Higher SSD Rates for Residential Properties, 3 July 2025, with Table 1. Expressly reverts to the pre-2017 holding period and raises each tier by four percentage points.
Ministry of Finance · Primary source · Published 3 July 2025
Stamp Duties Act 1929 (Amendment of First and Third Schedules) Notification 2025
Attorney-General's Chambers (Singapore Statutes Online) · Primary source · Published 3 July 2025
Seller's Stamp Duty (SSD) for residential property
Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore · Primary source · Publication date not recorded
Event checked against its primary sources on 24 August 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.