Singapore · Policy relaxation

Singapore cuts SSD to three years and 12%, lifts TDSR from low-LTV equity withdrawal loans and adds duties on property-holding entities

On 10 March 2017 Singapore cut the Seller's Stamp Duty holding period for residential property from four years to three and lowered every tier by four percentage points, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017.

HIGH IMPORTANCEEVIDENCE CHECKED23 of 24 claims verified

Announced 10 March 2017 · Effective 11 March 2017

Sign in to save this event to your research. It is free.

Compare before and after

Original rule

as at 11 March 2017

Current position

as at 26 September 2026

SSD holding period, residential

3 years, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017

SSD holding period, residential

4 years for property acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

SSD rate, sale within 1 year

12%, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017

SSD rate, sale within 1 year

16% for property acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

SSD rate, sale in year 2

8%, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017

SSD rate, sale in year 2

12% for property acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

SSD rate, sale in year 3

4%, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017

SSD rate, sale in year 3

8% for property acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

SSD rate, sale in year 4

No SSD payable, for property purchased on and after 11 March 2017

SSD rate, sale in year 4

4% for property acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

TDSR, mortgage equity withdrawal loans

Not applied at an LTV ratio of 50% and below

TDSR, mortgage equity withdrawal loans

No amendment recorded in this archive

Seller-side ACD, Type 1 PHE

12% on equity acquired from 11 March 2017 and sold within 3 years

Seller-side ACD, Type 1 PHE

16% within 4 years for equity acquired from 4 July 2025 (changed 4 July 2025)

See the amendment

Buyer-side ACD, Type 1 PHE

1%, 2% and 3% by band plus 15%, on the attributable underlying value

Buyer-side ACD, Type 1 PHE

No amendment recorded in this archive

PHE and significant owner thresholds

50%

PHE and significant owner thresholds

No amendment recorded in this archive

Key numbers

In brief

On 10 March 2017 Singapore eased two measures and added a third. Seller's Stamp Duty for residential property purchased from 11 March 2017 fell to three years at 12%, 8% and 4%, from four years at 16%, 12%, 8% and 4%. MAS stopped applying TDSR to mortgage equity withdrawal loans at LTV ratios of 50% and below, with the 60% threshold unchanged for other loans. A new additional conveyance duty was imposed on significant owners trading equity in entities that hold mainly residential property. ABSD and LTV limits were left alone.

Why it mattersInterpretation

A relaxation that reached nobody on the day

Because the new schedule keys to the purchase date, every owner on 10 March 2017 stayed on the four-year schedule. The easing applied only to property bought from 11 March 2017, and its first real effect, a fourth year free of duty, could not arrive before March 2020.

The TDSR change is about cash-out, not purchase

The carve-out applies to borrowing against a property already owned, at a low loan-to-value ratio. It does not touch the 60% threshold that governs purchase finance.

The corporate route was closed as the direct one was eased

Before 11 March 2017 a residential property held in a company could change hands through a share transfer without the buyer's or seller's property duties. The new duties charge that transfer on the underlying property value. The seller-side rate of 12% matches the new first-year SSD rate but does not step down over the three years, so an exit through an entity in years two and three carries a higher rate than a direct sale in the same year.

For analysts

The purchase-date boundary splits buyers into cohorts a day apart, which is the cleanest test the package offers. No disposal-by-holding-period series is loaded here, so it is registered and not run.

What changed

The purchase date decides the SSD schedule. Property purchased on and after 11 March 2017 carries 12% on a sale within one year, 8% in the second year, 4% in the third and nothing after three years. Anything bought from 14 January 2011 to 10 March 2017 keeps four years at 16%, 12%, 8% and 4%, so no existing owner's position improved on the day. For mixed residential property the industrial-attributable part is charged separately, at 15%, 10% and 5%. Mortgage equity withdrawal loans with an LTV ratio of 50% or below are no longer assessed under TDSR; above 50% they are, and the 60% threshold for every other property loan did not move. The Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017 added duties on conveyances of equity in an entity whose tangible assets are 50% or more Singapore residential property, where the buyer or seller is a significant owner holding 50% or more. For a Type 1 entity the buyer pays bands of 1%, 2% and 3% plus 15%, and a seller of equity acquired from 11 March 2017 pays 12% within three years, each on the share of the underlying property value that the equity represents.

As recorded in the claimBeforeAfterChangeSource
A residential property sold more than three years and up to four years after purchase no longer attracted Seller's Stamp Duty, where the rate had been 4%.4%0%−4 ptsClaim 8
The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a sale more than two years and up to three years after purchase was lowered from 8% to 4%.8%4%−4 ptsClaim 7
The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a sale more than one year and up to two years after purchase was lowered from 12% to 8%.12%8%−4 ptsClaim 6
Residential SSD holding period, from four yearsyears43−25%Claim 1
View all 6 before-and-after values
SSD on a sale within one year of purchase, from 16%16%12%−4 ptsClaim 2
The release restated the TDSR threshold of 60% for property loans from financial institutions and did not change it.60%60%No changeClaim 15
Full event recordDates, regulator, scope, every stored claim value, the position before and the current status

Event facts

Announced
10 March 2017
Effective
11 March 2017
Announcement to effective
1 day
Regulator
Monetary Authority of Singapore, Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance, Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore
Instruments and scope
Residential property purchased on and after 11 March 2017, for Seller's Stamp Duty; mortgage equity withdrawal loans from financial institutions with LTV ratios of 50% and below, for TDSR; and conveyances of equity interests in residential property-holding entities by or to significant owners from 11 March 2017, for the additional conveyance duties. The SSD trigger is the seller's purchase date, not the sale date: property purchased before 11 March 2017 keeps the schedule of its own cohort.
Residential SSD holding period, from four years
3 yearsKeys to the purchase date, not the sale date. Earlier purchases kept four years.[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(a); Annex, rate table]
Claim 2
12%A flat rate on the whole selling price or market value, not a marginal tier.[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, first data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg) of Article 3 of the First Schedule]
Claim 3
50%The TDSR threshold stayed at 60%. The 50% is the loan's LTV ratio.[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 6]
Claim 4
12%Flat across all three years, unlike SSD, which steps down with holding time.[Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (e); Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3]
Claim 5
4 percentage points[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(b)]
Claim 6
8%[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, second data row]
Claim 7
4%[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, third data row]
Claim 8
0%[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, fourth data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), which lists three periods only]
Claim 11
15%[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), first period, sub-paragraph (a)]
Claim 12
10%[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (a)]
Claim 13
5%[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (a)]
Claim 15
60%[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 5]
Claim 19
15%[Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (b)]
Claim 21
3 years[Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 6, new section 23(8)]
Claim 22
50%[Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 4; MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, footnote 2]
Before this framework
For residential property purchased from 14 January 2011 the Seller's Stamp Duty ran four years at 16%, 12%, 8% and 4% of the selling price or market value. TDSR applied to property loans from financial institutions, mortgage equity withdrawal loans included, at a threshold of 60%. A transfer of shares in a company holding residential property was charged the ordinary stamp duty on shares, and no duty measured on the underlying residential property applied.
Positioning at introduction
Presented by the Government as calibrated adjustments to a set of measures it had judged still necessary. It justified the SSD easing by a significant fall in sales within the four-year window, the TDSR change by borrowers' feedback that the framework limited their flexibility to borrow against their properties in retirement, and the conveyance duties as treating residential property on the same basis whether it is transacted directly or through the entity that holds it.
Current status
Amended. SSD holding period, residential changed 4 July 2025; SSD rate, sale within 1 year changed 4 July 2025; SSD rate, sale in year 2 changed 4 July 2025; SSD rate, sale in year 3 changed 4 July 2025; SSD rate, sale in year 4 changed 4 July 2025; Seller-side ACD, Type 1 PHE changed 4 July 2025.

Market context

We've seen this before

13 January 2011 · 14 January 2011

Why relevant

January 2011 set the schedule this event eased: four years at 16%, 12%, 8% and 4%. March 2017 lowered every tier by four percentage points and removed the fourth year, for purchases from 11 March 2017. The pair shows the same instrument at its peak and at its first easing.

Where the comparison breaks

  • January 2011 tightened: it lengthened the period to four years and raised the rates. March 2017 eased: it cut the period to three years and lowered every tier by four points.
  • January 2011 bundled loan-to-value cuts. March 2017 retained LTV limits and changed TDSR's reach instead.
  • March 2017 added a new duty on property-holding entities, which has no counterpart in January 2011.

What happened after

January 2011's own outcome evidence is aggregate price data that it grades LOW for attribution, so it offers no calibrated baseline. It supplies the counterfactual schedule: the cohort purchased from 14 January 2011 to 10 March 2017 is the group against which the 2017 cohort's selling behaviour would be measured.

3 July 2025 · 4 July 2025

Why relevant

July 2025 restored the schedule this event removed: four years at 16%, 12%, 8% and 4% for property acquired from 4 July 2025, and moved the seller-side additional conveyance duty to 16% within four years on the same cohort basis. The March 2017 schedule was the rule for every residential purchase between those two dates.

Where the comparison breaks

  • Opposite direction: March 2017 eased the schedule, July 2025 tightened it back.
  • March 2017 was a multi-instrument package that also changed TDSR's reach and created the conveyance duties. July 2025 moved only the SSD schedule and the seller-side conveyance duty.
  • The stated reasons are opposite readings of the same behaviour: in 2017 a significant fall in sales within the window, in 2025 a sharp rise in short-holding transactions and sub-sales.

What happened after

July 2025's outcomes are pre-registered and cannot report before 2027. Its adjacent-cohort test at 4 July 2025 mirrors this event's at 11 March 2017, and the two together would bracket the whole life of the three-year schedule.

Not a precedent for: Buyer-side stamp duties such as ABSD and BSD; Loan-to-value limits on purchase finance; The HDB Minimum Occupation Period; Supply-side instruments such as Government Land Sales programming

What happens next

March 2020 to March 2021, when the first affected purchases reached their fourth year

Fourth-year disposals by the cohort purchased from 11 March 2017

Show detail
CALENDAR · March 2020 to March 2021, when the first affected purchases reached their fourth yearPrivate residential, Singapore

Interpretation

The fourth year of ownership is the only band the package made free of duty, and the adjacent-cohort boundary allows a direct test: whether the cohort purchased on and after 11 March 2017 sold in its fourth year at a higher share than the cohort purchased in the year before, measured at the same age on the same denominator. The measure did not work as a release of held stock if the share was no higher.

Conditions affecting all transactions in 2020The July 2018 changes to ABSD and LTV limits, which applied to both cohorts' later purchasesPrice growth between the two cohorts' purchase dates
Why this grade

No grade is assigned because no disposal-by-holding-period series is held here. The window also coincides with the conditions of 2020, which bore on every transaction and would need controls this archive cannot supply.

No URA series of disposals by holding period is loaded in this archive.

March 2017 to March 2020

Sales within three years of purchase, affected cohort against the preceding one

Show detail
CALENDAR · March 2017 to March 2020Private residential, Singapore

Interpretation

The Government eased the duty because sales within the window had fallen, so the test is whether cheaper exits drew more of them. It fails if sales within three years of purchase by the cohort purchased from 11 March 2017 ran at or below the rate of the cohort purchased in the year before, at the same age.

The July 2018 ABSD and LTV changes, inside the windowCollective sale activity, which produces disposals unrelated to holding-period duty
Why this grade

No grade is assigned because no series is held. The release itself quantified the fall it relied on for none of its readers, so there is no stated baseline to test against either.

No URA series of sub-sales or of resales by holding period is loaded here.

2017 to 2019

Take-up of mortgage equity withdrawal loans at LTV ratios of 50% and below

Show detail
CALENDAR · 2017 to 2019Residential mortgage equity withdrawal loans from financial institutions, Singapore

Interpretation

The carve-out was justified by owners' wish to borrow against their properties in retirement. It did nothing measurable if mortgage equity withdrawal lending at LTV ratios of 50% and below did not rise after 11 March 2017 relative to the period before.

Interest rates over the windowBorrowers above 50% LTV, who were never released and are not separable in aggregate data
Why this grade

No grade is assigned. No source held publishes mortgage equity withdrawal lending by LTV band or by borrower age, and without that split the effect of the carve-out cannot be separated from the rest of housing credit.

MAS publishes no series at the granularity this test needs in any source held.

Residential property changing hands through equity in property-holding entities

Show detail
CALENDAR · 2017 to 2019Residential property-holding entities, Singapore

Interpretation

The duty was meant to put an indirect transfer on the same footing as a direct one. It failed to close the route if conveyances of equity in property-holding entities by significant owners did not fall after 11 March 2017, or if the duty was routinely collected at scale, which would show the route stayed in use at the new cost.

Corporate restructurings undertaken for reasons unrelated to dutyThe ABSD changes of July 2018, which also bore on entity purchasers
Why this grade

No grade is assigned because no series of such conveyances or of duty collected is held, and the counterfactual volume is unknowable from public data.

No public series of equity conveyances in property-holding entities or of additional conveyance duty collections is held.

See what was recorded before and after this event

Prevo analysis

Prevo view

Interpretation

The SSD cut was a modest easing delivered with a long fuse. It changed nothing for anyone who already owned a property, and its most distinctive effect, the free fourth year, could not arrive until 2020. The TDSR carve-out was narrower still and aimed at a specific group, owners borrowing against their homes at low leverage. Apart from the TDSR carve-out, the part of the package that bound anyone from the first day was the one that tightened: the conveyance duties bound from 11 March 2017, before the Act was even published. Read together, the package moved the cost of exit down for future direct owners and up for anyone holding through an entity.

Confidence: MEDIUM-HIGH

What would change this view: A URA series of resales by holding period, split by purchase cohort around 11 March 2017, would show whether the easing released stock in the fourth year or did nothing. MAS data on equity withdrawal lending by LTV band would show whether the carve-out was used. And any public count of equity conveyances in property-holding entities after March 2017 would show whether the corporate route closed or stayed open at the new cost.

The case for and the case against2

The case for

The Government eased only what it said the evidence supported. SSD had been set to deter short-term trading, sales within the window had fallen, and the duty was shortened and lowered rather than removed. The TDSR carve-out was narrow, limited to equity withdrawal at low leverage, where debt-servicing risk to the lender is smallest. And the conveyance duties were enacted at the same moment, deemed from the same date, so the easing did not open a cheaper indirect route for the same property.

The case against

The release justified the SSD easing by a fall in sales within the window and gave no figure for it, so the premise cannot be checked from what was published. The purchase-date trigger meant the easing reached no existing owner, and the fourth-year band it removed could not matter to anyone for three years. The four-year period and the 16%, 12%, 8% and 4% rates were restored for property acquired from 4 July 2025, on the Government's stated ground that short-holding transactions and sub-sales had risen sharply; the 2017 schedule governed purchases for about eight years and four months. Nothing held here measures whether the MEW carve-out was used.

What this view assumes4
  • The applicable SSD schedule is fixed by the seller's purchase date.
  • The 50% in the TDSR change is the loan's LTV ratio, and the TDSR threshold stayed at 60%.
  • The additional conveyance duty rates are as read from the formula images of the Act on Singapore Statutes Online, pending the Gazette check in an open question in Prevo's research record.
  • The seller-side additional conveyance duty reaches only equity acquired on or after 11 March 2017.
What we don't know6
  • The size of the fall in sales within the four-year window that the Government relied on
  • How the purchase date was determined for SSD in 2017, including the Option to Purchase rules
  • The MAS Notice mechanics of the TDSR carve-out
  • Mortgage equity withdrawal lending by LTV band and borrower age
  • The volume of equity conveyances in property-holding entities, before and after
  • The rates of the earlier paragraph (be) schedule for the industrial-attributable part of mixed residential property

Evidence behind this event

24 claims, 23 verified

Source interpretations3

Claim 14, Claim 16, Claim 23

Prevo interpretations (not independently verifiable)1

Claim 24

Causally established outcomes
0
Interpretive sections, not claim-verifiableWhy it matters, Prevo View, The case for, The case against
4

Every claim, by type

Rates, figures and counts16
  1. Claim 1

    The Seller's Stamp Duty holding period for residential property was cut from four years to three years.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(a); Annex, rate table]

    Applies only to residential property purchased on and after 11 March 2017. Property purchased from 14 January 2011 to 10 March 2017 kept the four-year period, so an owner who bought on 10 March 2017 still faced duty on a sale in the fourth year.

  2. Claim 2

    The Seller's Stamp Duty rate on a residential property sold within one year of purchase was lowered from 16% to 12%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, first data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg) of Article 3 of the First Schedule]

    Wholly residential property, or the residential-attributable part of mixed residential property, purchased on and after 11 March 2017. Charged on the selling price or market value, the release's footnote 1. The 16% before-value is the Annex's rate for purchases from 14 January 2011 to 10 March 2017.

  3. Claim 3

    MAS stopped applying the TDSR framework to mortgage equity withdrawal loans with LTV ratios of 50% and below.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 6]

    Before and after as the release states them. Before, the TDSR framework applied to mortgage equity withdrawal loans; the release says it will "no longer apply" and gives no LTV threshold for the earlier position, so no before-value is stored. After, a loan at an LTV ratio of 50% or below is outside TDSR and a loan above 50% stays inside it. The 50% is a loan-to-value ratio, not a debt-servicing threshold; the TDSR threshold stayed at 60% (claim 15). The MAS Notice amendment that gave effect to it is not held, so whether a loan is caught by application, grant or drawdown date is not stated here.

  4. Claim 4

    A seller-side additional conveyance duty of 12% was imposed on a significant owner selling equity in a Type 1 residential property-holding entity within three years of acquiring it, measured on the value of the underlying property attributable to the equity sold.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (e); Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3]

    A new imposition; no before-value is stored. Reaches only equity interests acquired on or after 11 March 2017 and sold within the three-year holding period, with equity first acquired treated as first sold. On Singapore Statutes Online the rate is a formula image, read as 12% x U1/V x W; the reading is recorded in the transcription and its check against the printed Gazette is an open question in Prevo's research record. Type 2 entities are charged on a different base.

  5. Claim 5

    The Seller's Stamp Duty rate was lowered by four percentage points in each tier.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(b)]

    A movement, not a level, so no before-value is stored; the levels are claims 2, 6, 7 and 8. The fourth tier moved from 4% to nothing, which is the same four points expressed as the end of the duty.

  6. Claim 6

    The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a sale more than one year and up to two years after purchase was lowered from 12% to 8%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, second data row]

    Wholly residential property, or the residential-attributable part of mixed residential property, purchased on and after 11 March 2017.

  7. Claim 7

    The Seller's Stamp Duty rate for a sale more than two years and up to three years after purchase was lowered from 8% to 4%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, third data row]

    Wholly residential property, or the residential-attributable part of mixed residential property, purchased on and after 11 March 2017.

  8. Claim 8

    A residential property sold more than three years and up to four years after purchase no longer attracted Seller's Stamp Duty, where the rate had been 4%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, fourth data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), which lists three periods only]

    A year that stopped being chargeable, not only a rate that fell. The Annex prints "No SSD payable" and the Notification simply has no fourth period; the 0 stored here records that absence of duty and is not a rate of nil stated in the instrument.

  9. Claim 11

    For mixed residential property acquired on or after 11 March 2017 and sold within one year, the part attributable to an industrial purpose is charged at 15%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), first period, sub-paragraph (a)]

    No before-value is stored and none is invented: the earlier paragraph (be) is not held. A single mixed property carries two rates at once, so the 12% in claim 2 describes its residential part only.

  10. Claim 12

    For mixed residential property acquired on or after 11 March 2017 and sold more than one year and up to two years after acquisition, the industrial-attributable part is charged at 10%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (a)]

    As claim 11. No before-value is stored.

  11. Claim 13

    For mixed residential property acquired on or after 11 March 2017 and sold more than two years and up to three years after acquisition, the industrial-attributable part is charged at 5%.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (a)]

    As claim 11. No before-value is stored.

  12. Claim 15

    The release restated the TDSR threshold of 60% for property loans from financial institutions and did not change it.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 5]

    Stored because the 50% in claim 3 will be read as a new TDSR limit unless the unchanged 60% sits beside it. The exception procedures of the June 2013 framework are not restated in this release.

  13. Claim 19

    The buyer-side additional conveyance duty on equity in a Type 1 property-holding entity includes a flat component of 15% of the value of the underlying residential property attributable to the equity acquired.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (b)]

    A new imposition; no before-value. Payable by a grantee who is or becomes a significant owner. The rate is a formula image on the SSO page, read as 15% x U/V x W. Charged on top of the banded component in claim 20, not instead of it.

  14. Claim 20

    The buyer-side additional conveyance duty also includes a banded component of 1% on the first S$180,000, 2% on the next S$180,000 and 3% above S$360,000 of the underlying property value, scaled by the share of equity acquired.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (a), three banded rows]

    A new imposition; no before-value. The three bands are marginal: 1%, 2% and 3%, stored as a range. Formula images read as 1%, 2% and 3% x U/V x W. Type 1 entities only.

  15. Claim 21

    The holding period for the seller-side additional conveyance duty was set at three years, and the duty reaches only equity interests acquired on or after 11 March 2017.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 6, new section 23(8)]

    A new parameter; no before-value. Where the seller acquired equity at different times, equity first acquired is treated as first sold. The Act's defined "effective date" is read as 11 March 2017 from its section 1 and the Order's paragraph 2; the definition itself is not transcribed.

  16. Claim 22

    An entity is a Type 1 property-holding entity where 50% or more of its total tangible assets is residential property in Singapore, and a significant owner is one holding 50% or more of its equity or voting power.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 4; MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, footnote 2]

    Residential property here is the Order's prescribed immovable property, defined by Master Plan zoning and permitted use, and it includes land zoned White. Associates' holdings count towards the significant owner test.

Policy decisions and design1
  1. Claim 17

    The Government stated that it was retaining the existing ABSD rates and LTV limits.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 2]

    The release gives as reasons healthy transaction volumes, firm demand and the prudence of households building buffers against higher interest rates, and supplies no figure for any of them. It says nothing about buyer's stamp duty or the mortgage servicing ratio.

Rules and scope2
  1. Claim 10

    The Notification closed the previous Seller's Stamp Duty schedule at acquisitions made before 11 March 2017, so property acquired earlier stayed on it.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[S 84/2017, paragraphs 1 and 2(a)]

    Paragraph (be) of Article 3, which governed acquisitions from 12 January 2013, was amended to end before 11 March 2017. Its rates are not reproduced in the Notification and are not held here; the before-values in claims 1, 2, 6, 7 and 8 come from the release's Annex, which gives one schedule for 14 January 2011 to 10 March 2017.

  2. Claim 18

    Significant owners of residential property-holding entities became subject to stamp duties when transferring equity interests in them, on the same basis as buying or selling the properties directly, under the Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, passed on 10 March 2017 and deemed in operation from 11 March 2017.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraphs 7 and 8; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 1 and the Acts Supplement header]

    A new imposition. The release names the policy and leaves the rates to the Bill; the rates are claims 4, 19 and 20. The Act was assented to on 20 March 2017 and published on 24 March 2017, after the conveyances it reached from 11 March. The duties are charged in addition to the ordinary stamp duty on a conveyance of shares.

Dates1
  1. Claim 9

    The new Seller's Stamp Duty rates applied to all residential property purchased on and after 11 March 2017.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 4]

    Fixes the boundary by purchase date. A sale on 11 March 2017 of a property bought in 2015 was charged under the old schedule. The release says "purchased" and the Notification "acquired"; neither defines the date further, and the Option to Purchase rules that IRAS applies are not held for 2017.

Characterisations and comparisons4
  1. Claim 14

    The Government gave as its reason for easing Seller's Stamp Duty that property sales within the four-year window had fallen significantly since the measure was introduced.

    VERIFIED PRIMARYGovernment estimate[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3]

    The release quantifies nothing. It gives no count, period or series for the fall, and this archive attaches no number to it. Classed as an interpretation because a statement about what the market did is a reading of data, whoever makes it.

  2. Claim 16

    MAS gave as its reason feedback that the TDSR framework had limited some borrowers' flexibility to borrow against the value of their properties for cash in their retirement years.

    VERIFIED PRIMARYGovernment estimate[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 6]

    The rationale is framed around retirement years; the carve-out as the release states it carries no age condition. The release does not say how many borrowers gave that feedback.

  3. Claim 23

    The Government stated that the intent was not to affect ordinary buying and selling by retail investors of shares in property-holding entities listed on the Singapore Exchange.

    VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 7]

    A statement of intent, not the statutory exclusion. How the Act gives effect to it sits in section 23 definitions that are not transcribed here, so this archive does not state the legal boundary.

  4. Claim 24

    The package eased the two costs an existing owner faces in getting money out of a residential property, the duty on an early sale and the debt-servicing test on borrowing against it, while closing the corporate route by which the property could change hands without either buyer or seller paying property-level duty.

    PARTIALLY VERIFIED[Prevo reading of the MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraphs 3, 6 and 7]

    Prevo's reading, not the government's. The three elements are each primary; describing them as one design is interpretation. The release presents the ACD as a matter of treating direct and indirect transactions alike and does not link it to the SSD or TDSR changes.

How this is scored

Counts are by provenance, meaning who established the claim, not by how confident we are. A policy fact is one the regulator's own document states. A market observation comes from a named data series. A derived calculation is one we computed, with the working recorded on the claim.

Interpretations are counted, never netted out. This page will not display zero unsupported claims while interpretive sections sit outside the claim ledger, because that number would be true only by excluding the material most likely to be wrong.

A claim of one type is only treated as verified by a source of the matching type. A market observation is not verified by a regulator press release.

Claims are grouped by the type recorded on each one. Grouping hides nothing: every claim is in exactly one group, in full.

Sources

5 documents

Primary sources5
  • Joint Press Release on Measures Relating to Residential Property

    Monetary Authority of Singapore · Published 10 March 2017

    Cited by 12 claims, 11 verified
    • Claim 1 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(a); Annex, rate table
    • Claim 3 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 6
    • Claim 5 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(b)
    • Claim 9 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 4
    • Claim 14 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3
    • Claim 15 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 5
    • Claim 16 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 6
    • Claim 17 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 2
    • Claim 18 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraphs 7 and 8; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 1 and the Acts Supplement header
    • Claim 22 · Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 4; MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, footnote 2
    • Claim 23 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 7
    • Claim 24 · Prevo reading of the MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraphs 3, 6 and 7
  • Existing and new Seller's Stamp Duty (SSD) rates for residential properties

    Monetary Authority of Singapore · Published 10 March 2017

    Cited by 5 claims, 5 verified
    • Claim 1 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraph 3(a); Annex, rate table
    • Claim 2 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, first data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg) of Article 3 of the First Schedule
    • Claim 6 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, second data row
    • Claim 7 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, third data row
    • Claim 8 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, fourth data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), which lists three periods only
  • Stamp Duties Act (Amendment of First and Third Schedules) Notification 2017

    Attorney-General's Chambers (Singapore Statutes Online) · S 84/2017 · Published 10 March 2017

    Cited by 8 claims, 8 verified
    • Claim 2 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, first data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg) of Article 3 of the First Schedule
    • Claim 6 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, second data row
    • Claim 7 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (b); MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, third data row
    • Claim 8 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, Annex, fourth data row; S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), which lists three periods only
    • Claim 10 · S 84/2017, paragraphs 1 and 2(a)
    • Claim 11 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), first period, sub-paragraph (a)
    • Claim 12 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), second period, sub-paragraph (a)
    • Claim 13 · S 84/2017, paragraph 2(c), new paragraph (bg), third period, sub-paragraph (a)
  • Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017

    Attorney-General's Chambers (Singapore Statutes Online) · S 100/2017 · Published 21 March 2017

    Cited by 3 claims, 3 verified
    • Claim 4 · Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (e); Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3
    • Claim 21 · Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 6, new section 23(8)
    • Claim 22 · Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 4; MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, footnote 2
  • Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017

    Attorney-General's Chambers (Singapore Statutes Online) · No. 13 of 2017 · Published 24 March 2017

    Cited by 5 claims, 5 verified
    • Claim 4 · Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (e); Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3
    • Claim 18 · MND, MOF and MAS joint release, 10 March 2017, paragraphs 7 and 8; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 1 and the Acts Supplement header
    • Claim 19 · Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (b)
    • Claim 20 · Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 8, new Article 3A of the First Schedule, item (1), paragraph (a), three banded rows
    • Claim 21 · Stamp Duties (Section 23) Order 2017, paragraph 3; Stamp Duties (Amendment) Act 2017, section 6, new section 23(8)

Event checked against its primary sources on 26 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.

Prevo provides research and informational analysis only. It is not a broker, investment adviser or fiduciary, and nothing on this site constitutes investment, legal, tax or financial advice. Verify independently.