Policy before and after · Eligibility change
Singapore doubles the MOP for future EC projects, removes deferred payment and delays full privatisation to year 15
Announced 8 May 2026 · Effective 8 May 2026
Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research briefView Executive Condominium minimum occupation period policy evolutionView Executive Condominium full privatisation policy evolutionView Deferred Payment Scheme policy evolutionView First-timer priority policy evolutionView Executive Condominium purchaser eligibility policy evolution
Comparison window
Comparison anchored to effective date: 8 May 2026. Before: 7 February 2026 to 7 May 2026. After: 8 May 2026 to 5 August 2026. The same 90 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.
Before · 7 Feb 2026 to 7 May 2026
7 land-sales awards
- 21 land-sales steps in all
- 0 other archive events
The event
Announced 8 May 2026
Effective 8 May 2026
The effective date is the anchor.
After · 8 May 2026 to 5 Aug 2026
4 land-sales awards
- 16 land-sales steps in all
- All 90 days observable
What this comparison can and cannot show
Generated from this window's records
Recorded
- 7 policy parameters recorded with a before and an after value on this event.
- 7 land-sales awards in the 90 days before the effective date, and 4 in the 90 observable days after.
- None of the 1 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 90-day window, so no market figure is compared.
Cannot be concluded
- That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
- A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
- Announced
- 8 May 2026
- Effective
- 8 May 2026
- Issuing authority
- Ministry of National Development, Housing & Development Board
- Category
- Eligibility change
- Affected market
- Executive condominium units in projects developed on Government Land Sales sites whose tender closing date falls on or after 8 May 2026. The trigger is the tender closing date of the land parcel, not the date a buyer purchases a unit. Tenders released before 8 May 2026, sites already awarded, projects already launched and every executive condominium in existence on 8 May 2026 continue under the prior framework, and resale buyers of pre-8-May projects are unaffected.
- Primary source
- Strengthening The Executive Condominium Housing Scheme and Supporting First-Time Home Buyers
On 8 May 2026 Singapore revised the Executive Condominium Housing Scheme, with effect the same day, for executive condominiums developed on Government Land Sales sites whose tender closing date falls on or after 8 May 2026. Nothing in the package reaches an existing EC, an awarded site or a launched project. For affected projects the minimum occupation period doubles from five years to ten, full privatisation moves from the tenth year to the fifteenth, the Deferred Payment Scheme is withdrawn in favour of progressive payments on construction milestones, and the first-timer allocation at launch rises from 70% for one month to 90% for two years. The S$16,000 household monthly income ceiling and core purchaser eligibility are not amended by this package, and a resale buyer still serves no further occupation period. Minister Chee Hong Tat was reported as saying that among EC units transacted from 2021 to 2025 about 75% were sold within five years of reaching MOP, up from about 45% in the preceding five years, and that the Government hopes developers will respond by reducing land bids and EC prices. Those are reported remarks, not captured government statements: the 8 May transcript is not archived and neither figure appears in the release. The hope is in any case a stated expectation and not an outcome, and no affected project had been tendered or priced when the measures were announced.
In brief
In brief
- MINIMUM_OCCUPATION_PERIOD, from top inferred not stated, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026: increased from 5 years to 10 years.
- FULL_PRIVATISATION, from top inferred not stated, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026: increased from 10 years to 15 years.
- 5 of the 7 recorded parameters changed; 2 did not.
- 7 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 4 in the after window.
What changed
| Policy parameter | Before | After | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| MINIMUM_OCCUPATION_PERIOD · from top inferred not stated, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026 | 5 years | 10 years | Increased |
| FULL_PRIVATISATION · from top inferred not stated, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026 | 10 years | 15 years | Increased |
| DEFERRED_PAYMENT_SCHEME · share of price deferred to top, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026 | 80% | 0% | Decreased |
| FIRST_TIMER_PRIORITY · quota at launch, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026 | 70% | 90% | Increased |
| FIRST_TIMER_PRIORITY · priority period, gls tender closes from 8 may 2026 | 1 months | 24 months | Increased |
| PURCHASER_ELIGIBILITY · household monthly income ceiling, all ec purchases | 16,000 SGD | 16,000 SGD | Unchanged |
| PURCHASER_ELIGIBILITY · further minimum occupation period, resale ec purchase | 0 years | 0 years | Unchanged |
Where these values come from
- Source
- Recorded on this event's policy matrix in Prevo's archive. The event's primary source: Strengthening The Executive Condominium Housing Scheme and Supporting First-Time Home Buyers.
- Primary source published
- 8 May 2026
- Validity
- In force from the event's effective date, 8 May 2026. The row records no date of its own; the date is the event's.
- Basis
- Archive record. The matrix row carries no source reference of its own; the event's sources are listed below.
Observed around this event
View linked outcomesThe same statistic over the 90 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.
HDB Resale Price Index
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 90-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/90 days
After
None
Coverage 0/90 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Housing & Development Board
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Concurrent planning and land activity
Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.
Before the effective date
21 lines
21 land-sales steps (7 awards) · 0 archive events
From the effective date
18 lines
16 land-sales steps (4 awards) · 2 archive events
Explore concurrent eventsHide concurrent events
Before (21)
10 February 2026 · Land sales
Tanjong Rhu Road: AwardedResidential · status on 10 February 2026: Awarded · awarded to CDL Constellation Pte. Ltd. and Bedrock Ventures Pte. Ltd. at S$709,252,000
25 February 2026 · Land sales
Holland Plain: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 25 February 2026: Tender open
25 February 2026 · Land sales
Morrison Lane: Released on the Reserve ListResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 25 February 2026: On the Reserve List
26 February 2026 · Land sales
Lorong Bistari: Tender closedMulti-Storey Next-Generation Driving Centre · status on 26 February 2026: Tender closed, award pending
3 March 2026 · Land sales
Lentor Central (15,926.2 sqm parcel): Tender closedResidential · status on 3 March 2026: Tender closed, award pending
3 March 2026 · Land sales
Lorong Bistari: AwardedMulti-Storey Next-Generation Driving Centre · status on 3 March 2026: Awarded · awarded to ComfortDelGro Driving Centre Pte. Ltd. at S$38,000,000
5 March 2026 · Land sales
Chitty Road and Veerasamy Road: Sale tender launched, outside the GLS listsResidential: 18 conserved two-storey buildings of 1927, within the existing envelope under the Conservation Guidelines · status on 5 March 2026: Tender open
6 March 2026 · Land sales
Lentor Central (15,926.2 sqm parcel): AwardedResidential · status on 6 March 2026: Awarded · awarded to GuocoLand (Singapore) Pte. Ltd., Intrepid Investments Pte. Ltd. and TID Residential Pte. Ltd. at S$657,100,000
16 March 2026 · Land sales
Town Hall Link: Released on the Reserve ListWhite site · status on 16 March 2026: On the Reserve List
26 March 2026 · Land sales
Dover Drive: Tender closedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 26 March 2026: Tender closed, award pending
30 March 2026 · Land sales
Bayshore Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListCommercial and residential · status on 30 March 2026: Tender open
31 March 2026 · Land sales
Dover Drive: AwardedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 31 March 2026: Awarded · awarded to CNQC Realty (Prime) Pte. Ltd., Forsea Residence Pte. Ltd. and Jianan Realty Investments (1) Pte. Ltd. at S$951,000,999
7 April 2026 · Land sales
Kallang Close: Tender closedResidential · status on 7 April 2026: Tender closed, award pending
9 April 2026 · Land sales
Peck Hay Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 9 April 2026: Tender open
9 April 2026 · Land sales
River Valley Green (Parcel C): Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 9 April 2026: Tender open
10 April 2026 · Land sales
Kallang Close: AwardedResidential · status on 10 April 2026: Awarded · awarded to Frasers Property Phoenix Pte. Ltd. and MJR Investment Pte. Ltd. at S$610,750,000
14 April 2026 · Land sales
Miltonia Close: Tender closedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 14 April 2026: Tender closed, award pending
21 April 2026 · Land sales
Miltonia Close: AwardedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 21 April 2026: Awarded · awarded to Hoi Hup Realty Pte Ltd at S$340,850,000
28 April 2026 · Land sales
Dunearn Road (19,041.6 sqm parcel): Tender closedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 28 April 2026: Tender closed, award pending
4 May 2026 · Land sales
Dunearn Road (19,041.6 sqm parcel): AwardedResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 4 May 2026: Awarded · awarded to Winrich Investment Pte. Ltd. and Metrobilt Construction Pte Ltd at S$532,999,999
7 May 2026 · Land sales
Holland Plain: Tender closedResidential · status on 7 May 2026: Tender closed, award pending
After (18)
12 May 2026 · Land sales
Holland Plain: AwardedResidential · status on 12 May 2026: Awarded · awarded to Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian Development Pte Ltd at S$454,000,000
15 May 2026 · Land sales
Berlayar Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 15 May 2026: Tender open
15 May 2026 · Land sales
New Upper Changi Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 15 May 2026: Tender open
26 May 2026 · Land sales
Canberra Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListExecutive Condominium housing · status on 26 May 2026: Tender open
11 June 2026 · Land sales
Peck Hay Road: Tender closedResidential · status on 11 June 2026: Tender closed, award pending
16 June 2026 · Land sales
Peck Hay Road: AwardedResidential · status on 16 June 2026: Awarded · awarded to CDL Constellation Pte. Ltd. and Garden Estates (Pte.) Limited at S$542,400,000
18 June 2026 · Land sales
River Valley Green (Parcel C): Tender closedResidential · status on 18 June 2026: Tender closed, award pending
23 June 2026 · Land sales
River Valley Green (Parcel C): AwardedResidential · status on 23 June 2026: Awarded · awarded to SMCL Haven 3 Pte. Ltd. and CSC Land Group (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. at S$750,569,199
25 June 2026 · Land sales
Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 25 June 2026: Tender open
25 June 2026 · Land sales
Kitchener Link: Released on the Reserve ListResidential · status on 25 June 2026: On the Reserve List
30 June 2026 · Land sales
Admiralty Walk: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListExecutive Condominium housing · status on 30 June 2026: Tender open
3 July 2026 · Land sales
Town Hall Link: Launched for tender, moved from the Reserve List to the Confirmed ListWhite site · status on 3 July 2026: Tender open
15 July 2026 · Land sales
Bayshore Drive: Tender closedCommercial and residential · status on 15 July 2026: Tender closed, award pending
20 July 2026 · Land sales
Bayshore Drive: AwardedCommercial and residential · status on 20 July 2026: Awarded · awarded to Gemini Residential Pte. Ltd. and Gemini Trustee Pte. Ltd. (as trustee-manager of Gemini Mall Trust) at S$2,128,000,000
28 July 2026 · Land sales
Chitty Road and Veerasamy Road: Tender closedResidential: 18 conserved two-storey buildings of 1927, within the existing envelope under the Conservation Guidelines · status on 28 July 2026: Tender closed, award pending
28 July 2026 · Archive event
Singapore removes the 15-month wait-out for private-property owners buying non-subsidised HDB resale flats without an HDB housing loanAnnounced 28 July 2026
28 July 2026 · Archive event
Singapore lengthens developer ABSD remission timelines for large and mega en bloc redevelopmentsAnnounced 28 July 2026
4 August 2026 · Land sales
Berlayar Drive: Tender closedResidential · status on 4 August 2026: Tender closed, award pending
Methodology5 rules
- Comparison anchored to effective date: 8 May 2026. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
- The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
- A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
- Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
- Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.
Sources
The event's sources (9)
Primary sources5
Strengthening The Executive Condominium Housing Scheme and Supporting First-Time Home Buyers
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 8 May 2026
Speech by Minister Chee Hong Tat at NUS IREUS Urban Housing Symposium
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 8 May 2026
Speech by Minister Chee Hong Tat at the Committee of Supply Debate
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 4 March 2026
Conditions After Buying an Executive Condominium
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Publication date not recorded
Eligibility for Buying an Executive Condominium
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Publication date not recorded
Supporting sources4
MOP for new ECs to be raised from 5 to 10 years, more units reserved for 1st-time buyers: Chee Hong Tat
Mothership · Secondary source · Published 8 May 2026
90% of new EC units to be reserved for first-timers, MOP to be raised to 10 years
AsiaOne · Secondary source · Published 8 May 2026
Rivelle Tampines fully sold within a month, making it 2026's best-selling EC
EdgeProp Singapore · Secondary source · Published 25 April 2026
This Tampines EC Will Preview on Friday, It Is One of Two New ECs in the East in 2026
Stacked Homes · Secondary source · Published 3 March 2026
Event checked against its primary sources on 22 August 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.