Policy before and after · Policy relaxation

Singapore lengthens developer ABSD remission timelines for large and mega en bloc redevelopments

Announced 28 July 2026 · Effective 29 July 2026

Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research brief

Comparison anchored to effective date: 29 July 2026. Before: 30 April 2026 to 28 July 2026. After: 29 July 2026 to 26 October 2026. The same 90 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.

Before · 30 Apr 2026 to 28 Jul 2026

5 land-sales awards

  • 17 land-sales steps in all
  • 2 other archive events

The event

Announced 28 Jul 2026

Effective 29 Jul 2026

The effective date is the anchor.

After · 29 Jul 2026 to 26 Oct 2026

4 land-sales awards

  • 9 land-sales steps in all
  • 66 of 90 days observable so far; the last 24 are after 2 Oct 2026

What this comparison can and cannot show

Generated from this window's records

Recorded

  • 5 verified claims on this event record a before and an after value.
  • 5 land-sales awards in the 90 days before the effective date, and 4 in the 66 observable days after.
  • None of the 3 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 90-day window, so no market figure is compared.

Cannot be concluded

  • That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
  • Anything about the last 24 of the 90 days after: they are after the date of this reading.
  • A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
Announced
28 July 2026
Effective
29 July 2026
Issuing authority
Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance, Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore
Category
Policy relaxation
Affected market
Residential en bloc sites bought by a licensed housing developer, or a trustee for one, with ABSD remitted upfront, where the site is purchased on or after 29 July 2026 and the redevelopment yields at least 700 residential units, as conveyed by URA, that are at least 1.5 times the existing development's residential units. Confirmed by IRAS on application. Regular en bloc sites of 5 to 699 units, en bloc sites bought from 6 March 2025 to 28 July 2026, non en bloc land and every buyer other than a housing developer are outside it.
Primary source
Revisions to Additional Buyer's Stamp Duty Regime to Support Housing Developers Undertaking Large-scale En Bloc Redevelopments

For en bloc sites purchased on or after 29 July 2026, a licensed housing developer whose redevelopment yields 700 to 1,399 residential units may have its ABSD remission completion and sale timelines set at 6 years, and one yielding 1,400 or more at 7 years, against 5.5 years under the 2025 Category 1 alone. Both need at least 1.5 times the existing units, as conveyed by URA, and IRAS confirms the extension on application. Commencement stays at 2.5 years. A Mega site must sell at least half its units by the end of 6 years or lose the whole upfront remission with interest. No ABSD rate changed.

In brief

In brief

  • 5 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 4 in the after window.

What changed

No policy matrix is recorded for this event. These are its verified claims that store a before and an after value.

As recorded in the claimBeforeAfterChangeSource
Mega en bloc site: completion and sale timeline in years, from 5.5years5.57+27.3%Claim 1
Large en bloc site: completion and sale timeline in years, from 5.5years5.56+9.1%Claim 2
The commencement timeline for Large and Mega sites stays at 2.5 years, as under Category 1.years2.52.5No changeClaim 4
To qualify as a Large or Mega site, the residential units on redevelopment must be at least 1.5 times the existing development's residential units, the intensification factor.times1.51.5No changeClaim 9
View all 5 before-and-after values
A licensed developer purchasing residential land is subject to 40% ABSD, of which 5% is non-remittable; 35% may be remitted upfront subject to qualifying conditions and the required undertaking.40%40%No changeClaim 22

Observed around this event

View linked outcomes

The same statistic over the 90 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.

Singapore private residential transactions, all types of sale

units · Total over whole periodic periods inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
FLOW
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Calculated (sum of published period values)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Private Residential Property Price Index, All Residential

index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole periodic period inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
INDEX
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Source fact (latest whole period)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

HDB Resale Price Index

index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole periodic period inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Housing & Development Board
Series kind
INDEX
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Source fact (latest whole period)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Concurrent planning and land activity

Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.

Before the effective date

19 lines

17 land-sales steps (5 awards) · 2 archive events

From the effective date

12 lines

9 land-sales steps (4 awards) · 3 archive events

Explore concurrent events

Before (19)

  1. 4 May 2026 · Land sales

    Dunearn Road (19,041.6 sqm parcel): Awarded

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 4 May 2026: Awarded · awarded to Winrich Investment Pte. Ltd. and Metrobilt Construction Pte Ltd at S$532,999,999

  2. 7 May 2026 · Land sales

    Holland Plain: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 7 May 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  3. 8 May 2026 · Archive event

    Singapore doubles the MOP for future EC projects, removes deferred payment and delays full privatisation to year 15

    Announced 8 May 2026

  4. 12 May 2026 · Land sales

    Holland Plain: Awarded

    Residential · status on 12 May 2026: Awarded · awarded to Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian Development Pte Ltd at S$454,000,000

  5. 15 May 2026 · Land sales

    Berlayar Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 15 May 2026: Tender open

  6. 15 May 2026 · Land sales

    New Upper Changi Road: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 15 May 2026: Tender open

  7. 26 May 2026 · Land sales

    Canberra Drive: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 26 May 2026: Tender open

  8. 11 June 2026 · Land sales

    Peck Hay Road: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 11 June 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  9. 16 June 2026 · Land sales

    Peck Hay Road: Awarded

    Residential · status on 16 June 2026: Awarded · awarded to CDL Constellation Pte. Ltd. and Garden Estates (Pte.) Limited at S$542,400,000

  10. 18 June 2026 · Land sales

    River Valley Green (Parcel C): Tender closed

    Residential · status on 18 June 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  11. 23 June 2026 · Land sales

    River Valley Green (Parcel C): Awarded

    Residential · status on 23 June 2026: Awarded · awarded to SMCL Haven 3 Pte. Ltd. and CSC Land Group (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. at S$750,569,199

  12. 25 June 2026 · Land sales

    Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 25 June 2026: Tender open

  13. 25 June 2026 · Land sales

    Kitchener Link: Released on the Reserve List

    Residential · status on 25 June 2026: On the Reserve List

  14. 30 June 2026 · Land sales

    Admiralty Walk: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 30 June 2026: Tender open

  15. 3 July 2026 · Land sales

    Town Hall Link: Launched for tender, moved from the Reserve List to the Confirmed List

    White site · status on 3 July 2026: Tender open

  16. 15 July 2026 · Land sales

    Bayshore Drive: Tender closed

    Commercial and residential · status on 15 July 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  17. 20 July 2026 · Land sales

    Bayshore Drive: Awarded

    Commercial and residential · status on 20 July 2026: Awarded · awarded to Gemini Residential Pte. Ltd. and Gemini Trustee Pte. Ltd. (as trustee-manager of Gemini Mall Trust) at S$2,128,000,000

  18. 28 July 2026 · Land sales

    Chitty Road and Veerasamy Road: Tender closed

    Residential: 18 conserved two-storey buildings of 1927, within the existing envelope under the Conservation Guidelines · status on 28 July 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  19. 28 July 2026 · Archive event

    Singapore removes the 15-month wait-out for private-property owners buying non-subsidised HDB resale flats without an HDB housing loan

    Announced 28 July 2026

After (12)

  1. 4 August 2026 · Land sales

    Berlayar Drive: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 4 August 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  2. 7 August 2026 · Land sales

    Chitty Road and Veerasamy Road: Awarded

    Residential: 18 conserved two-storey buildings of 1927, within the existing envelope under the Conservation Guidelines · status on 7 August 2026: Awarded · awarded to YK Land Pte. Ltd. at S$35,288,000

  3. 7 August 2026 · Land sales

    Berlayar Drive: Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2026: Awarded · awarded to Intrepid Investments Pte. Ltd. and GuocoLand (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. at S$576,778,554

  4. 13 August 2026 · Land sales

    Marina Gardens Lane (6,007.4 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 13 August 2026: Tender open

  5. 13 August 2026 · Land sales

    Orchard Boulevard (3,438.0 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 13 August 2026: Tender open

  6. 23 August 2026 · Archive event

    Singapore raises HDB and Executive Condominium income ceilings and adds a ballot chance for each child

    Announced 23 August 2026

  7. 23 August 2026 · Planning

    Singapore sets out a long-term outer islands land strategy at the National Day Rally

    Announced 23 August 2026

  8. 31 August 2026 · Archive event

    Singapore raises Land Betterment Charge rates for five of nine use groups from 1 September 2026

    Announced 31 August 2026

  9. 1 September 2026 · Land sales

    New Upper Changi Road: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 1 September 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  10. 4 September 2026 · Land sales

    New Upper Changi Road: Awarded

    Residential · status on 4 September 2026: Awarded · awarded to United Venture Development (Daisy) Pte. Ltd. and CL Sapphire Pte. Ltd. at S$1,425,388,000

  11. 15 September 2026 · Land sales

    Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 15 September 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  12. 18 September 2026 · Land sales

    Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Awarded

    Residential · status on 18 September 2026: Awarded · awarded to Eco World Development (S) Pte. Ltd. at S$208,099,000

Methodology5 rules
  • Comparison anchored to effective date: 29 July 2026. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
  • The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
  • A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
  • Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
  • Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.

Sources

The event's sources (5)

Primary sources5
  • Revisions to Additional Buyer's Stamp Duty Regime to Support Housing Developers Undertaking Large-scale En Bloc Redevelopments

    Ministry of Finance · Primary source · Published 28 July 2026

    Open original source

  • Revisions to Additional Buyer's Stamp Duty Regime for Housing Developers to Support Complex Projects and Onboarding to CORENET X

    Ministry of Finance · Primary source · Published 5 March 2025

    Open original source

  • Stamp Duties (Housing Developers) (Remission of ABSD) Rules 2013

    Attorney-General's Chambers (Singapore Statutes Online) · Primary source · Published 24 June 2013

    Open original source

  • Sites for Development of Five or More Residential Units

    Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore · Primary source · Publication date not recorded

    Open original source

  • ABSD Housing Developers Remission Timeline Extensions for Complex Projects and CORENET X

    Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore · Primary source · Publication date not recorded

    Open original source

Event checked against its primary sources on 27 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.

Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.