Policy before and after · Macroprudential

Singapore lowers the HDB housing-loan LTV limit from 80% to 75%

Announced 19 August 2024 · Effective 20 August 2024

Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research brief

Comparison anchored to effective date: 20 August 2024. Before: 22 May 2024 to 19 August 2024. After: 20 August 2024 to 17 November 2024. The same 90 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.

Before · 22 May 2024 to 19 Aug 2024

6 land-sales awards

  • 19 land-sales steps in all
  • 0 other archive events

The event

Announced 19 Aug 2024

Effective 20 Aug 2024

The effective date is the anchor.

After · 20 Aug 2024 to 17 Nov 2024

2 land-sales awards

  • 14 land-sales steps in all
  • All 90 days observable

What this comparison can and cannot show

Generated from this window's records

Recorded

  • 2 verified claims on this event record a before and an after value.
  • 6 land-sales awards in the 90 days before the effective date, and 2 in the 90 observable days after.
  • None of the 3 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 90-day window, so no market figure is compared.

Cannot be concluded

  • That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
  • A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
Announced
19 August 2024
Effective
20 August 2024
Issuing authority
Ministry of National Development, Housing & Development Board
Category
Macroprudential
Affected market
Housing loans granted by HDB for HDB flat purchases: resale purchases whose complete resale application reached HDB on or after 20 August 2024, 12.00am, and BTO applications from the October 2024 BTO exercise onwards. Loans from banks and other financial institutions are outside it; their 75% limit was stated unchanged.
Primary source
Measures to Cool the HDB Resale Market and Provide More Support for First-Time Home Buyers

On 19 August 2024 MND and HDB lowered the loan-to-value limit for housing loans granted by HDB from 80% to 75%, effective from 20 August 2024, 12.00am, for complete resale applications received by HDB on or after that date and for BTO applications from the October 2024 BTO exercise onwards. The limit for loans from banks and other financial institutions stayed at 75%, so the change brought the two headline limits level. The Government described the cut as five percentage points and gave as its reason sustained, strong, broad-based demand for HDB resale flats, citing resale price growth of more than 4% in the first half of 2024. It said the vast majority of HDB-loan borrowers would not be affected and that first-time buyers would be cushioned by housing grants. No change was announced to the TDSR, the MSR, loan tenure or the HDB concessionary interest rate.

In brief

In brief

  • 6 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 2 in the after window.

What changed

No policy matrix is recorded for this event. These are its verified claims that store a before and an after value.

As recorded in the claimBeforeAfterChangeSource
Loan-to-value limit for HDB housing loans, from 80%80%75%−5 ptsClaim 1
Loan-to-value limit for loans from banks and financial institutions, unchanged75%75%No changeClaim 3

Observed around this event

View linked outcomes

The same statistic over the 90 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.

Singapore private residential transactions, all types of sale

units · Total over whole quarterly periods inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
FLOW
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Calculated (sum of published period values)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Private Residential Property Price Index, All Residential

index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
INDEX
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Source fact (latest whole period)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

HDB Resale Price Index

index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 90-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/90 days

After

None

Coverage 0/90 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Housing & Development Board
Series kind
INDEX
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Source fact (latest whole period)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Concurrent planning and land activity

Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.

Before the effective date

19 lines

19 land-sales steps (6 awards) · 0 archive events

From the effective date

15 lines

14 land-sales steps (2 awards) · 1 archive event

Explore concurrent events

Before (19)

  1. 30 May 2024 · Land sales

    Margaret Drive: Launched for tender

    Residential · status on 30 May 2024: Tender open

  2. 30 May 2024 · Land sales

    Media Circle (long-stay serviced apartments): Launched for tender

    Residential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 30 May 2024: Tender open

  3. 13 June 2024 · Land sales

    Dairy Farm Walk (21,881.8 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 13 June 2024: Tender open

  4. 13 June 2024 · Land sales

    Tengah Garden Avenue: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 13 June 2024: Tender open

  5. 13 June 2024 · Land sales

    Bayshore Road: Released on the Reserve List

    Residential · status on 13 June 2024: On the Reserve List

  6. 19 June 2024 · Land sales

    Upper Thomson Road (Parcel A): Tender closed, no bids

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey, including long-stay serviced apartments · status on 19 June 2024: Tender closed, no bids received

  7. 19 June 2024 · Land sales

    River Valley Green (Parcel A): Tender closed

    Residential · status on 19 June 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  8. 27 June 2024 · Land sales

    River Valley Green (Parcel A): Awarded

    Residential · status on 27 June 2024: Awarded · awarded to Winchamp Investment Pte. Ltd. at S$463,999,999

  9. 27 June 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 94: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Mixed commercial and residential · status on 27 June 2024: Tender open

  10. 18 July 2024 · Land sales

    Canberra Crescent: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 18 July 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  11. 18 July 2024 · Land sales

    De Souza Avenue: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 18 July 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  12. 18 July 2024 · Land sales

    Zion Road (Parcel B): Tender closed

    Residential · status on 18 July 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  13. 1 August 2024 · Land sales

    Margaret Drive: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 1 August 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  14. 1 August 2024 · Land sales

    Jalan Loyang Besar: Tender closed

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 1 August 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  15. 7 August 2024 · Land sales

    Canberra Crescent: Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2024: Awarded · awarded to Peak Nature Pte Ltd and Huatland Development Pte. Ltd. at S$279,000,800

  16. 7 August 2024 · Land sales

    De Souza Avenue: Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2024: Awarded · awarded to SL Capital (8) Pte Ltd at S$278,900,000

  17. 7 August 2024 · Land sales

    Zion Road (Parcel B): Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2024: Awarded · awarded to Valerian Residential Pte. Ltd. at S$730,088,888

  18. 7 August 2024 · Land sales

    Margaret Drive: Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2024: Awarded · awarded to Intrepid Investments Pte. Ltd., Hong Realty (Private) Limited and GuocoLand (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. at S$497,000,000

  19. 16 August 2024 · Land sales

    Jalan Loyang Besar: Awarded

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 16 August 2024: Awarded · awarded to CNQC Realty (Progressive) Pte. Ltd., Forsea Residence Pte. Ltd. and ZACD Laserblue Pte. Ltd. at S$557,000,000

After (15)

  1. 22 August 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 95: Launched for tender, moved from the Reserve List to the Confirmed List

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 22 August 2024: Tender open

  2. 12 September 2024 · Land sales

    Faber Walk: Launched for tender

    Residential · status on 12 September 2024: Tender open

  3. 13 September 2024 · Land sales

    Jurong Lake District Master Developer site: Not awarded, moved to the Reserve List

    White site · status on 13 September 2024: Tender not awarded

  4. 19 September 2024 · Land sales

    Media Circle (long-stay serviced apartments): Tender closed

    Residential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 19 September 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  5. 19 September 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 94: Tender closed

    Mixed commercial and residential · status on 19 September 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  6. 26 September 2024 · Land sales

    Chencharu Close: Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Mixed commercial and residential, integrated with a bus interchange and a hawker centre · status on 26 September 2024: Tender open

  7. 3 October 2024 · Land sales

    Media Circle (long-stay serviced apartments): Not awarded

    Residential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 3 October 2024: Tender not awarded

  8. 10 October 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 94: Awarded

    Mixed commercial and residential · status on 10 October 2024: Awarded · awarded to Hoi Hup Realty Pte Ltd and Sunway Developments Pte. Ltd. at S$668,280,000

  9. 16 October 2024 · Archive event

    Singapore introduces the Standard, Plus and Prime flat classification for new BTO flats, with a 10-year MOP and subsidy recovery for Plus and Prime

    Effective 16 October 2024

  10. 17 October 2024 · Land sales

    Lentor Gardens (20,640.8 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 17 October 2024: Tender open

  11. 17 October 2024 · Land sales

    River Valley Green (Parcel B): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey, including long-stay serviced apartments · status on 17 October 2024: Tender open

  12. 17 October 2024 · Land sales

    Marina Gardens Lane (6,007.4 sqm parcel): Released on the Reserve List

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 17 October 2024: On the Reserve List

  13. 17 October 2024 · Land sales

    Woodlands Drive 17 (EC): Released on the Reserve List

    Executive Condominium · status on 17 October 2024: On the Reserve List

  14. 24 October 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 95: Tender closed

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 24 October 2024: Tender closed, award pending

  15. 8 November 2024 · Land sales

    Tampines Street 95: Awarded

    Executive Condominium housing · status on 8 November 2024: Awarded · awarded to Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian Development Pte Ltd at S$465,000,000

Methodology5 rules
  • Comparison anchored to effective date: 20 August 2024. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
  • The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
  • A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
  • Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
  • Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.

Sources

The event's sources (3)

Primary sources3
  • Measures to Cool the HDB Resale Market and Provide More Support for First-Time Home Buyers

    Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 19 August 2024

    Open original source

  • Measures to Cool the HDB Resale Market and Provide Greater Support for First-time Home Buyers

    Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 19 August 2024

    Open original source

  • Measures to Cool the HDB Resale Market and Greater Support for First-Time Home Buyers

    Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Publication date not recorded

    Open original source

Event checked against its primary sources on 26 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.

Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.