Singapore · Policy relaxation
Singapore replaces the AHG and SHG with the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant (EHG) and raises HDB income ceilings
On 10 September 2019 MND and HDB replaced the Additional and Special CPF Housing Grants with an Enhanced CPF Housing Grant of up to S$80,000 for first-timer families and up to S$40,000 for first-timer singles, from 11 September 2019, for resale applications received on or after that date and new-flat applications from the September 2019 sales launch.
Announced 10 September 2019 · Effective 11 September 2019
Sign in to save this event to your research. It is free.
Original rule
as at 11 September 2019
Current position
as at 27 September 2026
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer families
Up to S$80,000
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer families
Up to S$120,000 from 20 August 2024 (changed 20 August 2024)
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer singles
Up to S$40,000
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer singles
Up to S$60,000 from 20 August 2024 (changed 20 August 2024)
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, monthly household income limit, families
S$9,000
Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, monthly household income limit, families
No amendment recorded in this archive
Monthly household income ceiling, families buying from HDB, resale with a CPF Housing Grant, HDB housing loan
S$14,000
Monthly household income ceiling, families buying from HDB, resale with a CPF Housing Grant, HDB housing loan
S$16,000 for HDB Flat Eligibility letter applications from 24 August 2026 (changed 24 August 2026)
See the amendmentMonthly household income ceiling, first-timer singles aged 35 and above
S$7,000
Monthly household income ceiling, first-timer singles aged 35 and above
S$8,000 on some routes from 24 August 2026 (changed 24 August 2026)
See the amendmentMonthly household income ceiling, Executive Condominium unit from a developer
S$16,000
Monthly household income ceiling, Executive Condominium unit from a developer
S$18,000 for projects whose land sale tender closed from 24 August 2026 (changed 24 August 2026)
See the amendmentKey numbers
In brief
On 10 September 2019 MND and HDB replaced two first-timer grants with one: the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, up to S$80,000 for families and S$40,000 for singles, tiered by income and paid on a new or a resale flat. They also raised the income ceiling for families from S$12,000 to S$14,000 and for an Executive Condominium unit from S$14,000 to S$16,000. Resale applications from 11 September 2019 and new-flat applications from the September 2019 launch took the new rules.
Why it mattersInterpretation
Why it mattersInterpretation
The grant followed the household, not the flat
Before September 2019 the larger part of a low-income first-timer's grant on a new flat depended on buying a small flat in a non-mature estate. After it, the same income drew the same grant on a new or resale flat of any type or location, subject to lease. The worked case in the release shows the effect: a family earning S$4,800 buying a four-room flat in a mature estate went from S$5,000 to S$45,000.
Three income tests, not one
The flat ceiling decides who may buy, at S$14,000 for families. The grant stops much lower, at S$9,000. The Executive Condominium ceiling rose to S$16,000 while its grant stayed capped at S$12,000. A household reading the headline ceiling as its grant limit will overstate what it receives.
For buyers
The date that decided which grant applied was not the purchase date. For a resale flat it was the day HDB received the resale application; for a new flat it was the sales launch the application was made in.
For analysts
The grant, the ceilings and a promised supply response arrived together, and the first full year after them was 2020. Nothing in the public resale data records grants or buyer status, so the redesign's reach cannot be read from prices.
What changed
EHG
| Condition | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| familymax grant | n/a | 80000 SGD |
| singlemax grant | n/a | 40000 SGD |
| familygrant income ceiling | n/a | 9000 SGD |
| singlegrant income ceiling | n/a | 4500 SGD |
n/a → 80000 SGD
n/a → 40000 SGD
n/a → 9000 SGD
n/a → 4500 SGD
HDB INCOME CEILING
| Condition | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| familyhousehold monthly income ceiling | 12000 SGD | 14000 SGD |
| singlehousehold monthly income ceiling | 6000 SGD | 7000 SGD |
| extended familyhousehold monthly income ceiling | 18000 SGD | 21000 SGD |
12000 SGD → 14000 SGD
6000 SGD → 7000 SGD
18000 SGD → 21000 SGD
PURCHASER ELIGIBILITY
| Condition | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| household monthly income ceilingall ec purchases | 14000 SGD | 16000 SGD |
14000 SGD → 16000 SGD
Grant rows: the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant was new on 11 September 2019, so no before-value exists; it replaced the Additional and Special CPF Housing Grants. The maxima are the top income tier, for families at S$1,500 of monthly household income or less and for singles under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme at S$750 or less, and are pro-rated where the lease does not cover the youngest buyer and spouse to 95. The single rows are singles under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme aged 35 and above; singles under the Joint Singles Scheme use the family grant table, and other singles routes moved from S$12,000 to S$14,000. The family ceiling is the headline for flats from HDB, resale with a CPF Housing Grant and HDB loans; a 2-room Flexi flat on a 99-year lease moved from S$6,000 to S$7,000. The extended family figures are 1.5 times the family ceiling, as stated on HDB's resale page for resale applications from 11 September 2019. Triggers: new flats from the September 2019 sales launch; resale applications received on or after 11 September 2019; the Executive Condominium ceiling from 11 September 2019 with no other basis stated. The CPF Housing Grant for Executive Condominiums kept its S$12,000 limit.
Full event recordDates, regulator, scope, every stored claim value, the position before and the current status
Event facts
- Announced
- 10 September 2019
- Effective
- 11 September 2019
- Announcement to effective
- 1 day
- Regulator
- Ministry of National Development, Housing & Development Board
- Instruments and scope
- First-timer Singapore Citizen families and singles buying a new flat from HDB or a resale flat, for the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant; households buying a flat from HDB, a resale flat with a CPF Housing Grant or taking an HDB housing loan, for the flat income ceilings; and citizen households buying an Executive Condominium unit from a property developer, for the Executive Condominium ceiling.
- Claim 1
- 80000 S$The top tier only, at S$1,500 of income or less. It falls to S$5,000 at S$9,000.[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, first sentence; Annex A, Table A1, first row of the families column]
- Claim 2
- 40000 S$Single Singapore Citizen Scheme buyers. Joint Singles buyers use the family table.[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; Annex A, Table A1, singles column; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019]
- Claim 3
- 14000 S$ per monthWho may buy, not who gets a grant. The grant stops at S$9,000.[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 7, list a) to c); Annex C, Table C1]
- Claim 4
- 16000 S$ per monthEligibility to buy only. Above S$12,000 an EC buyer receives no CPF Housing Grant.[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 9, with footnote 8; Annex C, Table C1, column for an EC unit from a property developer]
- Claim 7
- 40000 S$[HDB page "First-Timer Applicants" for new flats, captured by the Internet Archive on 24 September 2020, section headed "For flat applications received before Sep 2019 sales launch", rows for income ceiling and grant amount, and the table headed "From November 2015 to May 2019 Sales Launch"]
- Claim 9
- 9000 S$ per month[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 2; Annex A, Table A1, last row of the families column]
- Claim 11
- 4500 S$ per month[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Income Ceiling"]
- Claim 12
- 20 years[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4 and footnote 3; Annex A, note marked "#"]
- Claim 13
- 160000 S$[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 4]
- Claim 15
- 95 years of age[Annex A, note marked "^"; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5 and footnote 6]
- Claim 16
- 20 years[Annex A, note marked "#", second sentence]
- Claim 18
- 45000 S$[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, first sentence; Annex B, Example 1]
- Claim 19
- 95000 S$[Annex B, Examples 2 and 3; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, second sentence]
- Claim 23
- 7000 S$ per month[Annex C, Table C1, rows for the current and revised ceilings, 2-room Flexi and 3-room columns, with notes "@" and "^"]
- Claim 24
- 7000 S$ per month[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 8; Annex D, paragraph 1 and Table D1]
- Claim 25
- 14000 S$ per month[Annex D, paragraph 2 and Table D1]
- Claim 26
- 21000 S$ per month[Annex C, note "*" to Table C1; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, section on the extended family income ceiling and its footnote]
- Claim 27
- 12000 S$ per month[Annex C, paragraph 2 and Table C2; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 8]
- Claim 28
- 14000 S$ per month[Annex C, last note to Table C1]
- Claim 29
- 7000 S$ per month[Annex C, paragraph 3a; HDB Step-Up pages captured 20 November 2019 (new flats) and 17 November 2019 (resale), footnotes to the income ceiling]
- Claim 30
- 14000 S$ per month[Annex C, paragraph 3b]
- Before this framework
- First-timer families buying a new flat from HDB could receive the Additional CPF Housing Grant and the Special CPF Housing Grant, the second only for four-room or smaller flats in non-mature estates; resale buyers could receive the CPF Housing Grant and the Additional CPF Housing Grant. HDB's pages put each of the two grants at up to S$40,000 for families. The monthly household income ceiling was S$12,000 for families, S$6,000 for singles aged 35 and above, and S$14,000 for an Executive Condominium unit.
- Positioning at introduction
- Presented by MND and HDB as making public housing more affordable and accessible, helping more Singaporeans from lower to upper-middle income households buy their first homes and start a family. The Government said HDB would likely have to increase BTO supply in 2020 to meet the additional demand.
- Current status
- Amended. Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer families changed 20 August 2024; Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, maximum, first-timer singles changed 20 August 2024; Monthly household income ceiling, families buying from HDB, resale with a CPF Housing Grant, HDB housing loan changed 24 August 2026; Monthly household income ceiling, first-timer singles aged 35 and above changed 24 August 2026; Monthly household income ceiling, Executive Condominium unit from a developer changed 24 August 2026.
Market context
We've seen this before
23 August 2026
Why relevant
August 2026 made the next move in the same two ceilings this event raised: the family ceiling from S$14,000 to S$16,000 and the Executive Condominium ceiling from S$16,000 to S$18,000. The August 2026 release says the ceilings were last adjusted in 2019, which is this event.
Where the comparison breaks
- September 2019 also redesigned the first-timer grant; August 2026 changed no grant amount and added a ballot chance per child instead.
- The triggers differ. In 2019 HDB used resale application receipt and the sales launch; in 2026 the flat ceilings follow the date of an HDB Flat Eligibility letter application and the Executive Condominium ceiling the land sale tender closing date.
- The 2019 Executive Condominium ceiling came with the release's implementation date only; 2026 tied it to a property of the land parcel.
What happened after
August 2026 is too recent to show an outcome. What the pair supplies is the chain: S$12,000, S$14,000 and S$16,000 for families, and S$14,000, S$16,000 and S$18,000 for Executive Condominiums, with this event as the step the 2026 release refers to by year only.
Not a precedent for: The CPF Housing Grant for resale flats; The Budget 2017 increase of the CPF Housing Grant for resale flats; Loan-to-value limits and debt-servicing ratios; Executive Condominium occupation, privatisation and payment rules
What happens next
2020 against 2019
BTO supply in 2020 against 2019
Show detail
BTO supply in 2020 against 2019
Interpretation
The Government's own expectation. The release said HDB would likely have to increase BTO supply in 2020 to meet the demand the grant and the ceilings would add. The test is whether HDB launched more BTO flats in 2020 than in 2019. If it did not, the expected supply response did not follow.
Why this grade
No grade is assigned and no supply figure has been read for this draft. The pandemic confounds the window: construction and launches in 2020 were disrupted for reasons unrelated to the grant.
No BTO launch count for 2019 or 2020 is stated in this draft.
2019 to 2021
Grant reach across flat types and estates
Show detail
Grant reach across flat types and estates
Interpretation
The redesign removed the limit of the Special CPF Housing Grant to smaller new flats in non-mature estates. The test is whether first-timer grant recipients spread into mature estates and larger flats after the September 2019 sales launch. If the mix did not change, flat type and location were not what the old limit had been steering.
Why this grade
No grade is assigned. It needs grant take-up by flat type and estate, which this archive does not hold.
No series of grant take-up by flat type or estate is loaded in this archive.
Resale share of first-timer grant recipients
Show detail
Resale share of first-timer grant recipients
Interpretation
The grant was made available on resale flats at the same amounts as on new flats. The test is whether the share of first-timer families receiving it on a resale purchase rose after 11 September 2019, relative to the Additional CPF Housing Grant's resale take-up before.
Why this grade
No grade is assigned and none can be from public data. The public resale dataset records neither grants nor whether a buyer is a first-timer.
Grants are not in the public HDB resale dataset.
Prevo analysis
Prevo view
InterpretationThe more important change is the redesign, not the ceilings. A grant that used to reward a narrow choice of flat became a grant keyed to income and lease, available on resale as well as new flats, and that shape survived the 2024 increase with its income limits intact. What the release leaves unclear is its reach. It gives one date where three routes needed three triggers, prints no pro-ration formula, and names no number of households helped, so the grant's effect on who bought where cannot be measured from what was published.
Confidence: MEDIUM-HIGH
What would change this view: HDB data on grant take-up by flat type, estate and channel before and after September 2019 would show whether the redesign moved first-timers or only paid them more for choices they would have made. A published count of households admitted by the higher ceilings would show whether that half mattered as much. The pro-ration schedule would show how much of the grant older flats actually attracted.
The case for and the case against2
The case for
The Government set out to help lower to upper-middle income first-timers buy a first home, and the redesign aims the money by income rather than by flat. It removes a subsidy that rewarded choosing a small flat in a non-mature estate, treats new and resale buyers alike, and ties the full grant to a lease that covers the buyers to 95, which the release presents as a home that lasts for life. Raising the ceilings kept households whose incomes had grown inside the scheme, and the Government paired the extra demand with a stated intention to raise BTO supply.
The case against
A grant paid on resale purchases adds purchasing power where supply is fixed, and the release offered no estimate of its effect on resale demand. The release put no figure on how many households the higher ceilings admitted or what the grant would cost. The single date in the release did not state how it applied route by route; that had to be read from HDB's pages, two of which survive only in later captures. And the pro-ration formula for shorter leases was left to a May 2019 announcement rather than printed.
What this view assumes3
- The Enhanced CPF Housing Grant replaced the Additional and Special CPF Housing Grants, up to S$80,000 for families and S$40,000 for singles.
- The grant's income tests are S$9,000 for families and S$4,500 for singles, below the flat ceilings of S$14,000 and S$7,000.
- A resale is caught when HDB receives the resale application on or after 11 September 2019; a new flat by the sales launch the application is made in.
What we don't know4
- Which sales exercise HDB meant by the September 2019 sales launch
- The pro-ration formula for flats whose lease does not cover the buyers to 95
- How many households the higher ceilings and the grant reached
- The basis on which the Executive Condominium ceiling was tested
Evidence behind this event
33 claims, 31 verified
- Causally established outcomes
- 0
- Interpretive sections, not claim-verifiableWhy it matters, Prevo View, The case for, The case against
- 4
Policy facts verified31
Claim 1, Claim 2, Claim 3, Claim 4, Claim 5, Claim 6, Claim 7, Claim 8, Claim 9, Claim 10, Claim 11, Claim 12, Claim 13, Claim 14, Claim 15, Claim 16, Claim 17, Claim 18, Claim 19, Claim 20, Claim 21, Claim 22, Claim 23, Claim 24, Claim 25, Claim 26, Claim 27, Claim 28, Claim 29, Claim 30, Claim 31
Source interpretations1
Prevo interpretations (not independently verifiable)1
Every claim, by type
Rates, figures and counts21
- Claim 1
MND and HDB introduced the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant, of up to S$80,000 for eligible first-timer families buying a flat that can cover them and their spouses to the age of 95.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, first sentence; Annex A, Table A1, first row of the families column]A maximum and a new grant. S$80,000 is the top tier, for average monthly household income of S$1,500 or less; the tiers are claim 8. No before-value is stored, because the grant did not exist before; the two grants it replaced are claims 5 to 7.
- Claim 2
Eligible first-timer singles aged 35 and above earning not more than S$4,500 a month could receive the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant (Singles) of up to S$40,000, on the same conditions as families.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; Annex A, Table A1, singles column; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019]Singles under the single Singapore citizen scheme. Their table runs in S$250 bands from S$40,000 at S$750 or less (claim 10). Singles buying under the Joint Singles Scheme sit in the families column of Annex A, so the S$4,500 limit is not theirs.
- Claim 3
The monthly household income ceiling for eligible families was raised from S$12,000 to S$14,000 to buy a flat from HDB, to buy a resale flat with a CPF Housing Grant, and to get an HDB housing loan for a new or resale flat.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 7, list a) to c); Annex C, Table C1]The headline, not every flat. Annex C sets lower tiers for a 2-room Flexi flat on a 99-year lease and for some 3-room projects (claim 23), and 1.5 times the ceiling for extended families (claim 26). A flat ceiling, not the grant's income test, which stops at S$9,000 (claim 9).
- Claim 4
The monthly household income ceiling for citizen households to buy an Executive Condominium unit from a property developer was raised from S$14,000 to S$16,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 9, with footnote 8; Annex C, Table C1, column for an EC unit from a property developer]Executive condominium scheme policy, not an HDB flat rule. The extended family 1.5 times rule does not apply to Executive Condominiums, and the CPF Housing Grant for an Executive Condominium unit keeps its S$12,000 income limit (claim 27). The release states no tender-date or purchase-date basis for this ceiling beyond the implementation date.
- Claim 8
The family grant was tiered by average monthly household income in sixteen S$500 bands: S$80,000 at not more than S$1,500, S$75,000 at S$1,501 to S$2,000, S$70,000 at S$2,001 to S$2,500, S$65,000 at S$2,501 to S$3,000, S$60,000 at S$3,001 to S$3,500, S$55,000 at S$3,501 to S$4,000, S$50,000 at S$4,001 to S$4,500, S$45,000 at S$4,501 to S$5,000, S$40,000 at S$5,001 to S$5,500, S$35,000 at S$5,501 to S$6,000, S$30,000 at S$6,001 to S$6,500, S$25,000 at S$6,501 to S$7,000, S$20,000 at S$7,001 to S$7,500, S$15,000 at S$7,501 to S$8,000, S$10,000 at S$8,001 to S$8,500 and S$5,000 at S$8,501 to S$9,000, with no grant above S$9,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, Table A1, column headed "First-Timer Families and Singles under Joint Singles Scheme", all seventeen rows]The whole table, as printed. The column also covers singles buying under the Joint Singles Scheme. The amounts assume a lease that covers the youngest buyer and spouse to 95; otherwise the grant is pro-rated (claim 15). The grant falls S$5,000 for each S$500 of income.
- Claim 9
To receive the grant a household's monthly income had to be S$9,000 or less, and the applicant or spouse had to have worked continuously for at least 12 months before the flat application and still be working when applying.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 2; Annex A, Table A1, last row of the families column]The grant's income test, not the flat ceiling. A family earning between S$9,001 and S$14,000 could buy a flat from HDB under claim 3 and received no Enhanced CPF Housing Grant.
- Claim 10
The singles grant under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme was tiered in sixteen S$250 bands: S$40,000 at not more than S$750, S$37,500 at S$751 to S$1,000, S$35,000 at S$1,001 to S$1,250, S$32,500 at S$1,251 to S$1,500, S$30,000 at S$1,501 to S$1,750, S$27,500 at S$1,751 to S$2,000, S$25,000 at S$2,001 to S$2,250, S$22,500 at S$2,251 to S$2,500, S$20,000 at S$2,501 to S$2,750, S$17,500 at S$2,751 to S$3,000, S$15,000 at S$3,001 to S$3,250, S$12,500 at S$3,251 to S$3,500, S$10,000 at S$3,501 to S$3,750, S$7,500 at S$3,751 to S$4,000, S$5,000 at S$4,001 to S$4,250 and S$2,500 at S$4,251 to S$4,500, with no grant above S$4,500.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, Table A1, column headed "Singles under Single Singapore Citizen Scheme", all seventeen rows; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Calculation of grant amount"]The whole table, as printed. Half the family amount at half the family income in every band.
- Claim 11
The singles grant was open to first-timer singles aged 35 and above whose average monthly income did not exceed S$4,500.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Income Ceiling"]Singles under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme. Buyers under the Joint Singles Scheme are tested on the families column, up to S$9,000.
- Claim 12
The grant was available whether the buyer purchased a new or a resale flat, with no restriction on flat type or location, for flats with at least 20 years of lease remaining.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4 and footnote 3; Annex A, note marked "#"]For families. The removed restriction is the Special CPF Housing Grant's limit to four-room or smaller new flats in non-mature estates. Singles face the flat limits in claim 14.
- Claim 13
With the new grant, eligible first-timer families buying a resale flat could receive up to S$160,000 in housing grants: the new grant of up to S$80,000, a CPF Housing Grant of up to S$50,000 and a Proximity Housing Grant of up to S$30,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 4]A ceiling on a combination of three grants with different tests. The CPF Housing Grant and the Proximity Housing Grant were not changed by this release.
- Claim 16
The minimum remaining lease to receive the grant was 20 years, and the minimum lease for all other types of housing grants was adjusted to 20 years.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, note marked "#", second sentence]No general before-value is stored. The annex says "adjusted" and does not state the previous minimum. HDB's singles page, captured 17 November 2019, prints 30 years or more for the singles grants on new flats applied for before the September 2019 sales launch; that covers one route only.
- Claim 18
In the release's worked case, a first-timer family earning S$4,800 a month buying a four-room BTO flat in a mature estate received S$45,000 in grant from 11 September 2019, against S$5,000 in Additional CPF Housing Grant before.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, first sentence; Annex B, Example 1]One household. The Special CPF Housing Grant was not available because the flat is in a mature estate. Annex B puts the increase at S$40,000. S$4,800 falls in the S$4,501 to S$5,000 band of claim 8, which pays S$45,000.
- Claim 19
The same household buying a four-room resale flat whose lease covered both buyers to 95 received S$95,000 in grants from 11 September 2019 against S$55,000 before, and S$90,000 on a flat with 60 years of lease left, where the new grant was pro-rated to S$40,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex B, Examples 2 and 3; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, second sentence]Two households, both aged 30. Before: a CPF Housing Grant of S$50,000 and S$5,000 in Additional CPF Housing Grant. After: the same CPF Housing Grant and S$45,000, or S$40,000 pro-rated. The Proximity Housing Grant, up to S$30,000 more, is outside both totals.
- Claim 23
For families buying new flats, the ceiling for a 2-room Flexi flat on a 99-year lease rose from S$6,000 to S$7,000, for a 3-room flat from S$6,000 or S$12,000 to S$7,000 or S$14,000 depending on the project, and for a 2-room Flexi flat on a short lease from S$12,000 to S$14,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, Table C1, rows for the current and revised ceilings, 2-room Flexi and 3-room columns, with notes "@" and "^"]The tiers below the headline. The stored pair is the 2-room Flexi flat on a 99-year lease. A 2-room Flexi flat on a short lease is for seniors aged 55 and above, who need not be first- or second-timers and cannot take an HDB loan for it. The 3-room ceiling is announced with each project.
- Claim 24
The ceiling for eligible first-timer singles aged 35 and above was raised from S$6,000 to S$7,000 to buy a 2-room Flexi flat in a non-mature estate, to buy a resale flat of up to 5-room with a CPF Housing Grant under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme, and to take an HDB loan for either.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 8; Annex D, paragraph 1 and Table D1]The singles headline. Other singles routes moved from S$12,000 to S$14,000 (claim 25). The singles grant stops at S$4,500 (claim 11).
- Claim 25
The ceiling for eligible first-timer singles was raised from S$12,000 to S$14,000 to buy a 2-room Flexi flat on a short lease if aged 55 and above, to buy a resale flat with a CPF Housing Grant to live with parents or under the Joint Singles Scheme, and to take an HDB loan for that resale flat.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex D, paragraph 2 and Table D1]Singles on these three routes only.
- Claim 26
For an extended family buying public housing the ceiling was 1.5 times the generic ceiling, which HDB's resale page states as S$21,000 for resale applications received on or after 11 September 2019, against S$18,000 before.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, note "*" to Table C1; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, section on the extended family income ceiling and its footnote]The release states the multiple, hdb's dated page the figures, and they agree: 1.5 times S$12,000 is S$18,000 and 1.5 times S$14,000 is S$21,000. The rule does not apply to Executive Condominiums.
- Claim 27
The CPF Housing Grant for an Executive Condominium unit bought from a developer was unchanged, tiered for first-timer families earning up to S$12,000 at S$30,000, S$20,000 and S$10,000, with no grant for households earning S$12,001 to S$16,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, paragraph 2 and Table C2; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 8]Stored because the release states it unchanged, and because a reader will assume the grant limit moved with the S$16,000 ceiling. Table C2 pays S$30,000 at not more than S$10,000, S$20,000 at S$10,001 to S$11,000 and S$10,000 at S$11,001 to S$12,000. The sources do not state that the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant applies to Executive Condominiums.
- Claim 28
The ceiling for buying a flat from a property developer under the Design, Build and Sell Scheme was raised from S$12,000 to S$14,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, last note to Table C1]Design, Build and Sell Scheme flats only.
- Claim 29
For eligible second-timer families, the ceiling for the Fresh Start Housing Scheme and the Step-Up CPF Housing Grant was raised from S$6,000 to S$7,000.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, paragraph 3a; HDB Step-Up pages captured 20 November 2019 (new flats) and 17 November 2019 (resale), footnotes to the income ceiling]Second-timer schemes only. HDB dated the Step-Up ceiling to applications from the September 2019 sales exercise for new flats and to resale applications received on or after 11 September 2019. The Step-Up grant amount is not changed by the release.
- Claim 30
For eligible seniors the ceiling was raised from S$12,000 to S$14,000 for the Lease Buyback Scheme, the Silver Housing Bonus and the purchase of a 2-room Flexi flat on a short lease.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex C, paragraph 3b]Senior monetisation and right-sizing schemes. No trigger beyond the implementation date is stated for them.
Policy decisions and design4
- Claim 5
MND and HDB introduced the Enhanced CPF Housing Grant to replace the existing Additional CPF Housing Grant and Special CPF Housing Grant, available whether the buyer purchases a new flat or a resale flat.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4, first and second sentences]A replacement, by route. On HDB's pages the new grant replaced both grants for new flats from the September 2019 sales launch, and replaced the Additional CPF Housing Grant for resale applications from 11 September 2019 (claims 21 and 22). The release does not state the maxima of the grants it replaced.
- Claim 14
For singles, the grant applied to 2-room Flexi flats on 99-year leases in non-mature estates, 2-room Flexi flats on short leases, and resale flats, up to 5-room under the Single Singapore Citizen Scheme and any resale flat under the Joint Singles Scheme.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, note marked "*"]Singles only. The note writes "Joint Single Scheme" where the table heading writes "Joint Singles Scheme"; both refer to the same scheme.
- Claim 15
The full grant applied where the remaining lease covered the youngest buyer and spouse to the age of 95; otherwise the grant was pro-rated, with reference to the pro-ration announced in May 2019 for CPF usage and HDB housing loans.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, note marked "^"; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5 and footnote 6]The formula is not printed. The release points to the May 2019 CPF and HDB loan pro-ration, which this archive does not hold. Annex B shows one result: S$40,000 instead of S$45,000 for a couple aged 30 buying a flat with 60 years of lease left (claim 19).
- Claim 17
A first-timer parent or child buying a resale flat with a child or parent who was a second-timer, or had already taken two housing subsidies, also qualified for the grant.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[Annex A, numbered note 1]Resale, and this combination only. The sources held say nothing about a first-timer married to a second-timer, and nothing is inferred for that household.
Dates4
- Claim 20
The grant and the revised income ceilings were implemented from 11 September 2019.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 10, first sentence; Annex B, column headings dated 11 September 2019]The release's only date, not the test for a given purchase. That test is claim 21 for a new flat and claim 22 for a resale flat. For an Executive Condominium unit the release gives no other basis.
- Claim 21
For a new flat, HDB applied the new grant to flat applications received from the September 2019 sales launch onwards, and the Additional and Special CPF Housing Grants to flat applications received before that launch.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, first and second headings; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for new flats, captured 24 September 2020, first and second headings; HDB Step-Up page, captured 20 November 2019, footnote 1]Stored as HDB words it. HDB names the launch by month only, and the sources held do not identify the exercise, or say how Sale of Balance Flats and open booking were treated. The Step-Up page applies the S$7,000 ceiling to applications from the September 2019 sales exercise and the S$6,000 ceiling to applications from the May 2019 sales exercise to 10 September 2019.
- Claim 22
For a resale flat, the new grant replaced the Additional CPF Housing Grant, and the higher income ceilings applied, for resale applications received on or after 11 September 2019.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, note under the opening paragraph and footnotes to the income ceiling; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Applicants page for resale flats, captured 24 August 2020; HDB resale Step-Up page, captured 17 November 2019, footnote to the income ceiling]An application-receipt rule. A resale application HDB received on 10 September 2019 kept the Additional CPF Housing Grant and the S$12,000 ceiling. The family and singles pages survive only in 2020 captures and only their dated sentences are relied on; the 2019 capture of the resale Step-Up page states the same date.
- Claim 31
The measures were announced by the Minister for National Development, Lawrence Wong, on the evening of 10 September 2019, in a release of MND and HDB.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 1; HDB copy of the release, published date 10 September 2019, captured 11 September 2019]The release does not name a venue. The MND record's timestamp reads 10.40am Singapore time, but the record was created in 2025, so it is a migration value and is not used. Not a National Day Rally announcement.
Characterisations and comparisons2
- Claim 32
The Government said the measures would help more Singaporeans from lower to upper-middle income households buy their first homes, and that HDB would likely have to increase BTO supply in 2020 to meet the anticipated additional demand.
VERIFIED PRIMARYGovernment estimate[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 1 and paragraph 10]The government's stated aim and expectation, not an observed effect. No number of flats or of households reached is given.
- Claim 33
The redesign moved the grant from the flat to the household. The Special CPF Housing Grant had paid only on smaller new flats in non-mature estates; the new grant paid the same income-tiered amount on any new or resale flat with enough lease, so a first-timer's grant no longer depended on which flat or which channel it chose.
PARTIALLY VERIFIED[Prevo reading of claims 5, 6, 8 and 12]Prevo's reading, not a Government statement. The inputs are verified. The conclusion holds for the grant amount only; the CPF Housing Grant for resale still varies by flat size, and the lease-to-95 pro-ration still makes the amount depend on the flat's remaining lease.
Background2
- Claim 6
Before the change, first-timer families buying a subsidised flat from HDB could receive the Additional and Special CPF Housing Grants, and resale buyers the CPF Housing Grant and the Additional CPF Housing Grant; the Special CPF Housing Grant was restricted to four-room or smaller new flats in non-mature estates.
VERIFIED PRIMARY[MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 3 and footnote 3; Annex B, note to Example 1]The release's own description of the state it replaced. It states no amounts for either grant.
- Claim 7
HDB's page for first-timer families lists, for flat applications received before the September 2019 sales launch, an Additional CPF Housing Grant of up to S$40,000 and a Special CPF Housing Grant of up to S$40,000, with income ceilings of S$5,000 and S$8,500.
PARTIALLY VERIFIED[HDB page "First-Timer Applicants" for new flats, captured by the Internet Archive on 24 September 2020, section headed "For flat applications received before Sep 2019 sales launch", rows for income ceiling and grant amount, and the table headed "From November 2015 to May 2019 Sales Launch"]Hdb's own text, held only on a 2020 capture of a living page, which is why this is partly verified. The figures sit under a heading the page itself dates, but the table's label runs only to the May 2019 sales launch, and no 2019 capture of the family page was found. The release states neither maximum. At the lowest incomes the two grants together reached S$80,000 on a new flat in a non-mature estate, so the change was one of reach more than of maximum.
How this is scored
Counts are by provenance, meaning who established the claim, not by how confident we are. A policy fact is one the regulator's own document states. A market observation comes from a named data series. A derived calculation is one we computed, with the working recorded on the claim.
Interpretations are counted, never netted out. This page will not display zero unsupported claims while interpretive sections sit outside the claim ledger, because that number would be true only by excluding the material most likely to be wrong.
A claim of one type is only treated as verified by a source of the matching type. A market observation is not verified by a regulator press release.
Claims are grouped by the type recorded on each one. Grouping hides nothing: every claim is in exactly one group, in full.
Sources
11 documents
Primary sources11
- More Affordable and Accessible Homes for Singaporeans: Enhanced CPF Housing Grant for First-Timers and Higher Income Ceilings
Ministry of National Development · Published 10 September 2019
Cited by 18 claims, 18 verified
- Claim 1 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, first sentence; Annex A, Table A1, first row of the families column
- Claim 2 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; Annex A, Table A1, singles column; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019
- Claim 3 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 7, list a) to c); Annex C, Table C1
- Claim 4 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 9, with footnote 8; Annex C, Table C1, column for an EC unit from a property developer
- Claim 5 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4, first and second sentences
- Claim 6 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 3 and footnote 3; Annex B, note to Example 1
- Claim 9 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 2; Annex A, Table A1, last row of the families column
- Claim 11 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Income Ceiling"
- Claim 12 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4 and footnote 3; Annex A, note marked "#"
- Claim 13 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 4
- Claim 15 · Annex A, note marked "^"; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5 and footnote 6
- Claim 18 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, first sentence; Annex B, Example 1
- Claim 19 · Annex B, Examples 2 and 3; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, second sentence
- Claim 20 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 10, first sentence; Annex B, column headings dated 11 September 2019
- Claim 24 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 8; Annex D, paragraph 1 and Table D1
- Claim 27 · Annex C, paragraph 2 and Table C2; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 8
- Claim 31 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 1; HDB copy of the release, published date 10 September 2019, captured 11 September 2019
- Claim 32 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 1 and paragraph 10
- Annex A: Enhanced CPF Housing Grant (EHG)
Ministry of National Development · Published 10 September 2019
Cited by 10 claims, 10 verified
- Claim 1 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, first sentence; Annex A, Table A1, first row of the families column
- Claim 2 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; Annex A, Table A1, singles column; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019
- Claim 8 · Annex A, Table A1, column headed "First-Timer Families and Singles under Joint Singles Scheme", all seventeen rows
- Claim 9 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 2; Annex A, Table A1, last row of the families column
- Claim 10 · Annex A, Table A1, column headed "Singles under Single Singapore Citizen Scheme", all seventeen rows; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Calculation of grant amount"
- Claim 12 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 4 and footnote 3; Annex A, note marked "#"
- Claim 14 · Annex A, note marked "*"
- Claim 15 · Annex A, note marked "^"; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5 and footnote 6
- Claim 16 · Annex A, note marked "#", second sentence
- Claim 17 · Annex A, numbered note 1
- Annex B: Illustration of Housing Grant Enhancement
Ministry of National Development · Published 10 September 2019
Cited by 4 claims, 4 verified
- Claim 6 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 3 and footnote 3; Annex B, note to Example 1
- Claim 18 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, first sentence; Annex B, Example 1
- Claim 19 · Annex B, Examples 2 and 3; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 6, second sentence
- Claim 20 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 10, first sentence; Annex B, column headings dated 11 September 2019
- Annex C: Higher Income Ceilings for Citizen Families
Ministry of National Development · Published 10 September 2019
Cited by 8 claims, 8 verified
- Claim 3 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 7, list a) to c); Annex C, Table C1
- Claim 4 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 9, with footnote 8; Annex C, Table C1, column for an EC unit from a property developer
- Claim 23 · Annex C, Table C1, rows for the current and revised ceilings, 2-room Flexi and 3-room columns, with notes "@" and "^"
- Claim 26 · Annex C, note "*" to Table C1; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, section on the extended family income ceiling and its footnote
- Claim 27 · Annex C, paragraph 2 and Table C2; MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, footnote 8
- Claim 28 · Annex C, last note to Table C1
- Claim 29 · Annex C, paragraph 3a; HDB Step-Up pages captured 20 November 2019 (new flats) and 17 November 2019 (resale), footnotes to the income ceiling
- Claim 30 · Annex C, paragraph 3b
- Annex D: Higher Income Ceilings for Citizen Singles
Ministry of National Development · Published 10 September 2019
- CPF Housing Grants for HDB Flats: Single Singapore Citizen Scheme (captured 17 November 2019)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 4 claims, 4 verified
- Claim 2 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; Annex A, Table A1, singles column; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019
- Claim 10 · Annex A, Table A1, column headed "Singles under Single Singapore Citizen Scheme", all seventeen rows; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Calculation of grant amount"
- Claim 11 · MND and HDB release, 10 September 2019, paragraph 5, last sentence; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, "Income Ceiling"
- Claim 21 · HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, first and second headings; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for new flats, captured 24 September 2020, first and second headings; HDB Step-Up page, captured 20 November 2019, footnote 1
- CPF Housing Grants for HDB Flats: Second-Timer Applicants (captured 20 November 2019)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 2 claims, 2 verified
- Claim 21 · HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, first and second headings; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for new flats, captured 24 September 2020, first and second headings; HDB Step-Up page, captured 20 November 2019, footnote 1
- Claim 29 · Annex C, paragraph 3a; HDB Step-Up pages captured 20 November 2019 (new flats) and 17 November 2019 (resale), footnotes to the income ceiling
- CPF Housing Grants for Resale Flats: Second-Timer Applicants (captured 17 November 2019)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 2 claims, 2 verified
- Claim 22 · HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, note under the opening paragraph and footnotes to the income ceiling; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Applicants page for resale flats, captured 24 August 2020; HDB resale Step-Up page, captured 17 November 2019, footnote to the income ceiling
- Claim 29 · Annex C, paragraph 3a; HDB Step-Up pages captured 20 November 2019 (new flats) and 17 November 2019 (resale), footnotes to the income ceiling
- CPF Housing Grants for HDB Flats: First-Timer Applicants (captured 24 September 2020)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 2 claims, 1 verified
- Claim 7 · HDB page "First-Timer Applicants" for new flats, captured by the Internet Archive on 24 September 2020, section headed "For flat applications received before Sep 2019 sales launch", rows for income ceiling and grant amount, and the table headed "From November 2015 to May 2019 Sales Launch"
- Claim 21 · HDB Single Singapore Citizen Scheme page, captured 17 November 2019, first and second headings; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for new flats, captured 24 September 2020, first and second headings; HDB Step-Up page, captured 20 November 2019, footnote 1
- CPF Housing Grants for Resale Flats: First-Timer Applicants (captured 6 November 2020)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 2 claims, 2 verified
- Claim 22 · HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, note under the opening paragraph and footnotes to the income ceiling; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Applicants page for resale flats, captured 24 August 2020; HDB resale Step-Up page, captured 17 November 2019, footnote to the income ceiling
- Claim 26 · Annex C, note "*" to Table C1; HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, section on the extended family income ceiling and its footnote
- CPF Housing Grants for Resale Flats: Single Singapore Citizen Applicants (captured 24 August 2020)
Housing & Development Board · Publication date not recorded
Cited by 1 claim, 1 verified
- Claim 22 · HDB First-Timer Applicants page for resale flats, captured 6 November 2020, note under the opening paragraph and footnotes to the income ceiling; HDB Single Singapore Citizen Applicants page for resale flats, captured 24 August 2020; HDB resale Step-Up page, captured 17 November 2019, footnote to the income ceiling
Event checked against its primary sources on 27 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Prevo provides research and informational analysis only. It is not a broker, investment adviser or fiduciary, and nothing on this site constitutes investment, legal, tax or financial advice. Verify independently.