Policy before and after · Tax policy

Singapore raises Land Betterment Charge rates for five of nine use groups from 1 September 2026

Announced 31 August 2026 · Effective 1 September 2026

Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research brief

Comparison anchored to effective date: 1 September 2026. Before: 2 August 2026 to 31 August 2026. After: 1 September 2026 to 30 September 2026. The same 30 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.

Before · 2 Aug 2026 to 31 Aug 2026

2 land-sales awards

  • 5 land-sales steps in all
  • 2 other archive events

The event

Announced 31 Aug 2026

Effective 1 Sep 2026

The effective date is the anchor.

After · 1 Sep 2026 to 30 Sep 2026

2 land-sales awards

  • 4 land-sales steps in all
  • All 30 days observable

What this comparison can and cannot show

Generated from this window's records

Recorded

  • 7 verified claims on this event record a before and an after value.
  • 2 land-sales awards in the 30 days before the effective date, and 2 in the 30 observable days after.
  • None of the 2 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 30-day window, so no market figure is compared.

Cannot be concluded

  • That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
  • A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
Announced
31 August 2026
Effective
1 September 2026
Issuing authority
Singapore Land Authority, Urban Redevelopment Authority
Category
Tax policy
Affected market
Land in Singapore on which Land Betterment Charge is assessed by the Table of Rates method, where the chargeable consent is a Provisional Permission granted on or after 1 September 2026, or a second or subsequent extension to a Provisional Permission granted on or after that date. The table covers 118 geographical sectors and nine use groups, with Use Groups A to E stated per sq m of gross floor area and Use Groups F to H per sq m of land area. Cases assessed under the Valuation method rather than the Table of Rates method sit outside the table.
Primary source
Revision of Land Betterment Charge Rates from 1 September 2026

On 31 August 2026 the Singapore Land Authority published revised Land Betterment Charge rates for the half year from 1 September 2026 to 28 February 2027. Rates rose on average in five of the nine use groups: commercial by 1.7%, landed residential by 3.5%, non-landed residential by 3.4%, industrial by 3.9%, and places of worship and civic and community institutions by 2.9%. Use Group C, covering hotel and hospital uses, and Use Groups F, G and H did not move in any of the 118 geographical sectors. The largest single move is in sector 54, where the non-landed residential rate rose from S$7,700 to S$9,940 per sq m of gross floor area, and sectors 55 and 56 rose from the same base to S$9,520. Boundary adjustments were made to sectors 7, 16, 23 and 35. The new rates apply where Provisional Permission, or a second or subsequent extension to it, is granted on or after 1 September 2026.

In brief

In brief

  • 2 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 2 in the after window.

What changed

No policy matrix is recorded for this event. These are its verified claims that store a before and an after value.

As recorded in the claimBeforeAfterChangeSource
Sector 54 non-landed residential LBC rate, from S$7,700 per sq mS$ per sq m of gross floor area7,7009,940+29.1%Claim 18
In sectors 55 and 56, the Use Group B2 rate rose from S$7,700 to S$9,520 per square metre of gross floor area, from the same March 2026 base as sector 54.S$ per sq m of gross floor area7,7009,520+23.6%Claim 19
In sector 96, the Use Group A rate rose from S$7,350 to S$8,750 per square metre of gross floor area, the largest commercial increase in this revision.S$ per sq m of gross floor area7,3508,750+19%Claim 20
In sector 67, the Use Group B1 rate rose from S$20,650 to S$22,330 per square metre of gross floor area, which is both the largest landed residential increase and the highest landed residential rate in the table.S$ per sq m of gross floor area20,65022,330+8.1%Claim 21
View all 7 before-and-after values
In sector 43, the Use Group B2 rate rose from S$14,700 to S$15,540 per square metre of gross floor area, the highest non-landed residential rate in the table.S$ per sq m of gross floor area14,70015,540+5.7%Claim 23
In sector 111, the Use Group D rate rose from S$2,758 to S$2,898 per square metre of gross floor area, the highest industrial rate in the table.S$ per sq m of gross floor area2,7582,898+5.1%Claim 24
In sector 42, the Use Group A rate rose from S$17,850 to S$18,550 per square metre of gross floor area, the highest commercial rate in the table.S$ per sq m of gross floor area17,85018,550+3.9%Claim 22

Observed around this event

View linked outcomes

The same statistic over the 30 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.

Singapore private residential transactions, all types of sale

units · Total over whole periodic periods inside each 30-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/30 days

After

None

Coverage 0/30 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
FLOW
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Calculated (sum of published period values)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Private Residential Property Price Index, All Residential

index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole periodic period inside each 30-day window

Before

None

Coverage 0/30 days

After

None

Coverage 0/30 days

Difference

Not stated

No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.

Provenance
Source
Urban Redevelopment Authority
Series kind
INDEX
Basis
Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
Origin
Source fact (latest whole period)
Shown because
Mapped to this kind of event

Concurrent planning and land activity

Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.

Before the effective date

7 lines

5 land-sales steps (2 awards) · 2 archive events

From the effective date

4 lines

4 land-sales steps (2 awards) · 0 archive events

Explore concurrent events

Before (7)

  1. 4 August 2026 · Land sales

    Berlayar Drive: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 4 August 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  2. 7 August 2026 · Land sales

    Chitty Road and Veerasamy Road: Awarded

    Residential: 18 conserved two-storey buildings of 1927, within the existing envelope under the Conservation Guidelines · status on 7 August 2026: Awarded · awarded to YK Land Pte. Ltd. at S$35,288,000

  3. 7 August 2026 · Land sales

    Berlayar Drive: Awarded

    Residential · status on 7 August 2026: Awarded · awarded to Intrepid Investments Pte. Ltd. and GuocoLand (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. at S$576,778,554

  4. 13 August 2026 · Land sales

    Marina Gardens Lane (6,007.4 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 13 August 2026: Tender open

  5. 13 August 2026 · Land sales

    Orchard Boulevard (3,438.0 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed List

    Residential · status on 13 August 2026: Tender open

  6. 23 August 2026 · Archive event

    Singapore raises HDB and Executive Condominium income ceilings and adds a ballot chance for each child

    Announced 23 August 2026

  7. 23 August 2026 · Planning

    Singapore sets out a long-term outer islands land strategy at the National Day Rally

    Announced 23 August 2026

After (4)

  1. 1 September 2026 · Land sales

    New Upper Changi Road: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 1 September 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  2. 4 September 2026 · Land sales

    New Upper Changi Road: Awarded

    Residential · status on 4 September 2026: Awarded · awarded to United Venture Development (Daisy) Pte. Ltd. and CL Sapphire Pte. Ltd. at S$1,425,388,000

  3. 15 September 2026 · Land sales

    Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Tender closed

    Residential · status on 15 September 2026: Tender closed, award pending

  4. 18 September 2026 · Land sales

    Lorong Puntong / Sin Ming Avenue: Awarded

    Residential · status on 18 September 2026: Awarded · awarded to Eco World Development (S) Pte. Ltd. at S$208,099,000

Methodology5 rules
  • Comparison anchored to effective date: 1 September 2026. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
  • The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
  • A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
  • Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
  • Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.

Sources

The event's sources (4)

Primary sources4
  • Revision of Land Betterment Charge Rates from 1 September 2026

    Singapore Land Authority · Primary source · Published 31 August 2026

    Open original source

  • Revision of Land Betterment Charge rates from 1 March 2026

    Singapore Land Authority · Primary source · Published 27 February 2026

    Open original source

  • Land Betterment Charge

    Singapore Land Authority · Primary source · Publication date not recorded

    Open original source

  • Annex A, Table for Land Betterment Charge Rates per Square Metre, September 2026

    Singapore Land Authority · Primary source · Publication date not recorded

    Open original source

Event checked against its primary sources on 1 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.

Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.