Policy before and after · Macroprudential
Singapore raises SSD to 16% to 4% over four years and tightens LTV limits again
Announced 13 January 2011 · Effective 14 January 2011
Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research brief
Comparison window
Comparison anchored to effective date: 14 January 2011. Before: 15 December 2010 to 13 January 2011. After: 14 January 2011 to 12 February 2011. The same 30 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.
Before · 15 Dec 2010 to 13 Jan 2011
3 land-sales awards
- 7 land-sales steps in all
- 0 other archive events
The event
Announced 13 Jan 2011
Effective 14 Jan 2011
The effective date is the anchor.
After · 14 Jan 2011 to 12 Feb 2011
1 land-sales award
- 10 land-sales steps in all
- All 30 days observable
What this comparison can and cannot show
Generated from this window's records
Recorded
- 3 verified claims on this event record a before and an after value.
- 3 land-sales awards in the 30 days before the effective date, and 1 in the 30 observable days after.
- None of the 4 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 30-day window, so no market figure is compared.
Cannot be concluded
- That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
- A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
- Announced
- 13 January 2011
- Effective
- 14 January 2011
- Issuing authority
- Monetary Authority of Singapore, Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance
- Category
- Macroprudential
- Affected market
- Residential property acquired on or after 14 January 2011, and housing loans from MAS-regulated financial institutions to individuals with outstanding housing loans and to non-individual purchasers.
- Primary source
- Measures to maintain a stable and sustainable property market. Joint press release, Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance and Monetary Authority of Singapore, 13 January 2011.
On 13 January 2011 Singapore extended the Seller's Stamp Duty holding period to four years and replaced the progressive schedule with flat rates of 16%, 12%, 8% and 4%, reduced the loan-to-value limit to 60% for individuals with one or more outstanding housing loans, and imposed a 50% limit on non-individual purchasers.
In brief
In brief
- 3 GLS site awards were recorded in the before window and 1 in the after window.
What changed
No policy matrix is recorded for this event. These are its verified claims that store a before and an after value.
Observed around this event
View linked outcomesThe same statistic over the 30 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.
Singapore private residential transactions, all types of sale
units · Total over whole quarterly periods inside each 30-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/30 days
After
None
Coverage 0/30 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Series kind
- FLOW
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Calculated (sum of published period values)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Private Residential Property Price Index, All Residential
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 30-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/30 days
After
None
Coverage 0/30 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
HDB Resale Price Index
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 30-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/30 days
After
None
Coverage 0/30 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Housing & Development Board
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
URA Private Residential Property Price Index, all residential properties, level (1Q2009 = 100)
index
Comparison unavailable: series aggregation type is unresolved.
Provenance
- Source
- Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Series kind
- Unresolved (not recorded)
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Unresolved
- Shown because
- Cited by this event's own outcomes
Concurrent planning and land activity
Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.
Before the effective date
7 lines
7 land-sales steps (3 awards) · 0 archive events
From the effective date
11 lines
10 land-sales steps (1 award) · 1 archive event
Explore concurrent eventsHide concurrent events
Before (7)
16 December 2010 · Land sales
Seletar Road: AwardedResidential · status on 16 December 2010: Awarded · awarded to Asplenium Land Pte. Ltd. at S$123,000,000
5 January 2011 · Land sales
Yuan Ching Road: Tender closedDesign, Build and Sell Scheme public housing · status on 5 January 2011: Tender closed, award pending
5 January 2011 · Land sales
Robinson Road / Boon Tat Street: Tender closedHotel · status on 5 January 2011: Tender closed, award pending
6 January 2011 · Land sales
Robertson Quay: Launched for tenderHotel · status on 6 January 2011: Tender open
10 January 2011 · Land sales
Yuan Ching Road: AwardedDesign, Build and Sell Scheme public housing · status on 10 January 2011: Awarded · awarded to Hoi Hup Realty Pte Ltd, Sunway Developments Pte Ltd and SC Wong Holdings Pte Ltd at S$131,600,000
11 January 2011 · Land sales
Gopeng Street / Peck Seah Street: Tender closedHotel · status on 11 January 2011: Tender closed, award pending
11 January 2011 · Land sales
Robinson Road / Boon Tat Street: AwardedHotel · status on 11 January 2011: Awarded · awarded to Royal Group Holdings Pte Ltd at S$86,000,000
After (11)
14 January 2011 · Land sales
Gopeng Street / Peck Seah Street: AwardedHotel · status on 14 January 2011: Awarded · awarded to Golden Development Private Limited at S$194,770,000
17 January 2011 · Archive event
Singapore lets the Controller of Residential Property charge housing developers for extensions of timeEffective 17 January 2011
18 January 2011 · Land sales
Bedok Reservoir Road: Launched for tenderResidential · status on 18 January 2011: Tender open
19 January 2011 · Land sales
Kaki Bukit Road 4: Launched for tenderBusiness 2 · status on 19 January 2011: Tender open
21 January 2011 · Land sales
Choa Chu Kang Drive: Launched for tenderExecutive Condominium housing · status on 21 January 2011: Tender open
21 January 2011 · Land sales
Sengkang Square / Compassvale Road: Launched for tenderCondominium or Flats · status on 21 January 2011: Tender open
21 January 2011 · Land sales
Bishan Street 14: Launched for tenderCondominium or Flats · status on 21 January 2011: Tender open
26 January 2011 · Land sales
Clementi Avenue 4: Launched for tenderDesign, Build and Sell Scheme public housing · status on 26 January 2011: Tender open
27 January 2011 · Land sales
Paya Lebar Road / Eunos Road 8: Launched for tenderCommercial · status on 27 January 2011: Tender open
31 January 2011 · Land sales
Ang Mo Kio Street 62: Launched for tenderBusiness 1 · status on 31 January 2011: Tender open
10 February 2011 · Land sales
Bartley Road / Lorong How Sun: Launched for tenderResidential · status on 10 February 2011: Tender open
Methodology5 rules
- Comparison anchored to effective date: 14 January 2011. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
- The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
- A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
- Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
- Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.
Sources
The event's sources (5)
Primary sources5
Measures to maintain a stable and sustainable property market. Joint press release, Ministry of National Development, Ministry of Finance and Monetary Authority of Singapore, 13 January 2011.
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 13 January 2011
Joint Press Release on Measures Relating to Residential Property, 10 March 2017, with the SSD annex recording the schedule cut to 12/8/4 over three years. Also carries the TDSR and MEW relaxation and the ACD and PHE stamp-duty regime.
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 10 March 2017
Extension of the Holding Period of Seller's Stamp Duty and Higher SSD Rates for Residential Properties, 3 July 2025, with Table 1. Expressly reverts to the pre-2017 holding period and raises each tier by four percentage points.
Ministry of Finance · Primary source · Published 3 July 2025
HDB Resale Price Index, quarterly official dataset, 1990-Q1 to 2026-Q2. Retrieved 14 August 2026 via the data.gov.sg datastore API. Final index values, not flash estimates.
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 14 August 2026
URA Private Residential Property Price Index By Type Of Property, quarterly, base 1Q2009 = 100. SingStat TableBuilder table M212261, Residential Properties series, 206 quarters 1975-Q1 to 2026-Q2. Retrieved 14 August 2026 via the open TableBuilder API.
Urban Redevelopment Authority · Primary source · Published 14 August 2026
Event checked against its primary sources on 14 August 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.