Policy before and after · Eligibility change
Singapore introduces the Standard, Plus and Prime flat classification for new BTO flats, with a 10-year MOP and subsidy recovery for Plus and Prime
Announced 20 August 2023 · Effective 16 October 2024
Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research briefView HDB minimum occupation period policy evolutionView HDB subsidy recovery policy evolutionView HDB resale income ceiling policy evolution
Comparison window
Comparison anchored to effective date: 16 October 2024. Before: 16 September 2024 to 15 October 2024. After: 16 October 2024 to 14 November 2024. The same 30 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.
Before · 16 Sep 2024 to 15 Oct 2024
1 land-sales award
- 5 land-sales steps in all
- 0 other archive events
The event
Announced 20 Aug 2023
Effective 16 Oct 2024
The effective date is the anchor.
After · 16 Oct 2024 to 14 Nov 2024
1 land-sales award
- 6 land-sales steps in all
- All 30 days observable
What this comparison can and cannot show
Generated from this window's records
Recorded
- 13 policy parameters recorded with a before and an after value on this event.
- 1 land-sales award in the 30 days before the effective date, and 1 in the 30 observable days after.
- None of the 1 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 30-day window, so no market figure is compared.
Cannot be concluded
- That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
- A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
- Announced
- 20 August 2023
- Effective
- 16 October 2024
- Issuing authority
- Prime Minister's Office Singapore, Ministry of National Development, Housing & Development Board
- Category
- Eligibility change
- Affected market
- New BTO flats launched by HDB from the October 2024 BTO exercise onwards, each classified Standard, Plus or Prime at launch, their first owners and later resale buyers, and first-timer singles buying new 2-room Flexi flats or resale flats by class. Existing flats, flats launched before the October 2024 exercise including those launched under the Prime Location Public Housing model, and Executive Condominiums are outside it.
- Primary source
- New Plus housing model with more subsidies for more affordable BTO flats in attractive locations
Announced at the National Day Rally on 20 August 2023 and applied by HDB from the October 2024 BTO exercise, which opened on 16 October 2024, new BTO projects are classified Standard, Plus or Prime by location. Flats launched before that exercise, PLH flats among them, carry no class and are not reclassified. Plus and Prime flats carry extra subsidy, a 10-year minimum occupation period against five years for Standard, subsidy recovery when first sold, and no whole-flat rental even after the MOP; their resale buyers face an income ceiling. The first exercise set recovery at 6% to 9% across seven Plus projects and one Prime project. First-timer singles may apply for 2-room Flexi flats in all three classes, where they had been limited to non-mature estates.
In brief
In brief
- 1 GLS site award was recorded in the before window and 1 in the after window.
What changed
| Policy parameter | Before | After | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| HDB_MOP · standard | Unknown | 5 years | Not stated |
| HDB_MOP · plus | Unknown | 10 years | Not stated |
| HDB_MOP · prime | Unknown | 10 years | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · central trio amk, plus | Unknown | 6% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · kembangan wave, plus | Unknown | 6% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · bayshore vista, plus | Unknown | 7% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · bayshore palms, plus | Unknown | 7% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · merpati alcove, plus | Unknown | 8% | Not stated |
View all 13 parametersHide the other 5
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · kallang view, plus | Unknown | 8% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · towner breeze, plus | Unknown | 8% | Not stated |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · crawford heights, prime | Unknown | 9% | Not stated |
| HDB_RESALE_INCOME_CEILING · plus | Unknown | 14,000 SGD | Not stated |
| HDB_RESALE_INCOME_CEILING · prime | Unknown | 14,000 SGD | Not stated |
Where these values come from
- Source
- Recorded on this event's policy matrix in Prevo's archive. The event's primary source: New Plus housing model with more subsidies for more affordable BTO flats in attractive locations.
- Primary source published
- 20 August 2023
- Validity
- In force from the event's effective date, 16 October 2024. The row records no date of its own; the date is the event's.
- Basis
- Archive record. The matrix row carries no source reference of its own; the event's sources are listed below.
Observed around this event
View linked outcomesThe same statistic over the 30 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.
HDB Resale Price Index
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole quarterly period inside each 30-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/30 days
After
None
Coverage 0/30 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole quarterly period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Housing & Development Board
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Concurrent planning and land activity
Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.
Before the effective date
5 lines
5 land-sales steps (1 award) · 0 archive events
From the effective date
6 lines
6 land-sales steps (1 award) · 0 archive events
Explore concurrent eventsHide concurrent events
Before (5)
19 September 2024 · Land sales
Media Circle (long-stay serviced apartments): Tender closedResidential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 19 September 2024: Tender closed, award pending
19 September 2024 · Land sales
Tampines Street 94: Tender closedMixed commercial and residential · status on 19 September 2024: Tender closed, award pending
26 September 2024 · Land sales
Chencharu Close: Launched for tender, Confirmed ListMixed commercial and residential, integrated with a bus interchange and a hawker centre · status on 26 September 2024: Tender open
3 October 2024 · Land sales
Media Circle (long-stay serviced apartments): Not awardedResidential for long-stay serviced apartments only, with commercial at 1st storey · status on 3 October 2024: Tender not awarded
10 October 2024 · Land sales
Tampines Street 94: AwardedMixed commercial and residential · status on 10 October 2024: Awarded · awarded to Hoi Hup Realty Pte Ltd and Sunway Developments Pte. Ltd. at S$668,280,000
After (6)
17 October 2024 · Land sales
Lentor Gardens (20,640.8 sqm parcel): Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential · status on 17 October 2024: Tender open
17 October 2024 · Land sales
River Valley Green (Parcel B): Launched for tender, Confirmed ListResidential with commercial at 1st storey, including long-stay serviced apartments · status on 17 October 2024: Tender open
17 October 2024 · Land sales
Marina Gardens Lane (6,007.4 sqm parcel): Released on the Reserve ListResidential with commercial at 1st storey · status on 17 October 2024: On the Reserve List
17 October 2024 · Land sales
Woodlands Drive 17 (EC): Released on the Reserve ListExecutive Condominium · status on 17 October 2024: On the Reserve List
24 October 2024 · Land sales
Tampines Street 95: Tender closedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 24 October 2024: Tender closed, award pending
8 November 2024 · Land sales
Tampines Street 95: AwardedExecutive Condominium housing · status on 8 November 2024: Awarded · awarded to Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian Development Pte Ltd at S$465,000,000
Recorded relationships
Methodology5 rules
- Comparison anchored to effective date: 16 October 2024. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
- The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
- A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
- Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
- Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.
Sources
The event's sources (6)
Primary sources6
New Plus housing model with more subsidies for more affordable BTO flats in attractive locations
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 20 August 2023
National Day Rally 2023
Prime Minister's Office Singapore · Primary source · Published 20 August 2023
Oral Answer by Ministry of National Development on the New Classification Framework for BTO Flats
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 18 September 2023
Standard, Plus, and Prime Housing Models
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 19 September 2024
HDB Launches Record Number of Projects in October 2024 BTO Exercise under New Flat Classification Framework
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 16 October 2024
Speech by Minister Desmond Lee at the PA-MND Kopi Talk on New Flat Classification Framework
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Publication date not recorded
Event checked against its primary sources on 27 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.