Policy before and after · Eligibility change
Singapore introduces the Prime Location Public Housing (PLH) model, with a 10-year MOP and resale limited to BTO-eligible buyers
Announced 27 October 2021 · Effective 17 November 2021
Read the full event recordCompare with another policyCreate research briefView HDB minimum occupation period policy evolutionView HDB subsidy recovery policy evolutionView Wait-out period policy evolution
Comparison window
Comparison anchored to effective date: 17 November 2021. Before: 18 October 2021 to 16 November 2021. After: 17 November 2021 to 16 December 2021. The same 30 days on each side; the anchor day counts as after.
Before · 18 Oct 2021 to 16 Nov 2021
0 land-sales awards
- 1 land-sales step in all
- 0 other archive events
The event
Announced 27 Oct 2021
Effective 17 Nov 2021
The effective date is the anchor.
After · 17 Nov 2021 to 16 Dec 2021
0 land-sales awards
- 2 land-sales steps in all
- All 30 days observable
What this comparison can and cannot show
Generated from this window's records
Recorded
- 4 policy parameters recorded with a before and an after value on this event.
- 0 land-sales awards in the 30 days before the effective date, and 0 in the 30 observable days after.
- None of the 1 tracked series has a whole period on both sides of a 30-day window, so no market figure is compared.
Cannot be concluded
- That this event moved any figure on this page. The comparison is by date; nothing here is attributed to the event.
- A reading of the concurrent land sales and events as responses to this one. They are listed by date alone.
About this eventIssuing authority, category, affected market, primary source, summary
- Announced
- 27 October 2021
- Effective
- 17 November 2021
- Issuing authority
- Ministry of National Development, Housing & Development Board
- Category
- Eligibility change
- Affected market
- New HDB flats in projects launched under the Prime Location Public Housing model, the first being River Peaks I and II at Rochor in the November 2021 BTO exercise, and every later resale of those flats. Existing flat owners and flats not launched under the model are outside it.
- Primary source
- Joint MND-HDB Press Release on the Prime Location Public Housing (PLH) Model
On 27 October 2021 MND and HDB announced the Prime Location Public Housing model, first applied from 17 November 2021 to River Peaks I and II at Rochor in the November 2021 BTO exercise. PLH flats carry a 10-year MOP against 5 years for other BTO flats, no whole-flat rental even after the MOP, and a payment to HDB of a percentage of the resale price on sale, fixed at 6% for River Peaks I and II. Buying a PLH flat from HDB needs the prevailing BTO eligibility conditions, unchanged. Buying one on resale now needs them too: a citizen applicant, the S$14,000 income ceiling and no private property owned or disposed of in the last 30 months, none of which applied to a typical resale flat. The model was not applied retroactively to existing flat owners.
In brief
In brief
- HDB_MOP, plh: increased from 5 years to 10 years.
What changed
| Policy parameter | Before | After | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| HDB_MOP · plh | 5 years | 10 years | Increased |
| HDB_MOP · non plh bto | 5 years | 5 years | Unchanged |
| HDB_SUBSIDY_RECOVERY · river peaks i and ii, plh | Unknown | 6% | Not stated |
| WAIT_OUT · PPO AND EX PPO, plh resale | Unknown | 30 months | Not stated |
Where these values come from
- Source
- Recorded on this event's policy matrix in Prevo's archive. The event's primary source: Joint MND-HDB Press Release on the Prime Location Public Housing (PLH) Model.
- Primary source published
- 27 October 2021
- Validity
- In force from the event's effective date, 17 November 2021. The row records no date of its own; the date is the event's.
- Basis
- Archive record. The matrix row carries no source reference of its own; the event's sources are listed below.
Observed around this event
View linked outcomesThe same statistic over the 30 days before and after the anchor. Figures describe what was recorded in each window; they do not attribute a change to this event.
HDB Resale Price Index
index (2009Q1=100) · Value in the latest whole periodic period inside each 30-day window
Before
None
Coverage 0/30 days
After
None
Coverage 0/30 days
Difference
Not stated
No whole periodic period of this series falls inside either window, so no comparison is stated. A longer window may contain one.
Provenance
- Source
- Housing & Development Board
- Series kind
- INDEX
- Basis
- Observation periods wholly inside each window, values as originally recorded.
- Origin
- Source fact (latest whole period)
- Shown because
- Mapped to this kind of event
Concurrent planning and land activity
Land sales and other archive events dated inside the windows, listed by date only. Each land-sales line shows the site as the record stood on that day.
Before the effective date
1 line
1 land-sales step (0 awards) · 0 archive events
From the effective date
3 lines
2 land-sales steps (0 awards) · 1 archive event
Explore concurrent eventsHide concurrent events
Before (1)
21 October 2021 · Land sales
Dairy Farm Walk: Launched for tenderResidential · status on 21 October 2021: Tender open
After (3)
30 November 2021 · Land sales
Pine Grove (Parcel A): Released on the Reserve ListResidential · status on 30 November 2021: On the Reserve List
30 November 2021 · Land sales
Pine Grove (Parcel B): Released on the Reserve ListResidential · status on 30 November 2021: On the Reserve List
15 December 2021 · Archive event
Singapore raises ABSD, tightens TDSR to 55% and lowers HDB loan LTV to 85%Announced 15 December 2021
Methodology5 rules
- Comparison anchored to effective date: 17 November 2021. The anchor is the effective date where one is recorded, otherwise the announcement date.
- The windows are the same number of days on each side of the anchor, and the anchor day belongs to the after window.
- A series counts toward a window only for observation periods wholly inside it, with values as originally recorded, not as later revised.
- Where no whole period falls inside a window, no value and no difference is stated; a day no whole period covers is missing, never zero.
- Concurrent land sales and archive events are listed by date alone. Nothing on this page is attributed to the event.
Sources
The event's sources (3)
Primary sources3
Joint MND-HDB Press Release on the Prime Location Public Housing (PLH) Model
Ministry of National Development · Primary source · Published 27 October 2021
The Prime Location Public Housing (PLH) Model
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 27 October 2021
HDB Launches 6,299 Flats in November 2021 BTO and SBF Exercises
Housing & Development Board · Primary source · Published 17 November 2021
Event checked against its primary sources on 27 September 2026. Each claim keeps its own verification status.
Observed series come from the published statistics named on each card. Land-sales lines link to the site record and its releases.